LibGuides: Art and Art History Research Guide: Images

Library Resources

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Find images using the Images tab on JSTOR. JSTOR's digital image repository has images and related textual data from across many time periods and cultures.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a digital image repository that has assembled images and related textual data from across many time periods and cultures that support a wide range of educational and scholarly activities.
Kanopy Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
If your professor has assigned a film located in the Kanopy video streaming database, access it here.
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Video provides access to nearly 50,000 streaming videos from a variety of publishers. Contents include field recording, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage.

Online Image Repositories

Getty Search Gateway
The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required. Please use the following source credit when reproducing an image: Digital image courtesy of the Getty's Open Content Program.
U.S. Government Photos and Images Search
Some of these photos are in the public domain or U.S. government works and may be used without permission or fee. However, some images may be protected by license or copyright. You should read the disclaimers on each site before using these images.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
Images may or may not be open access. Check the Rights and Restrictions for the collection or image for copyright information.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection Search
Search over 400,000 images in the Met's collection. Filter by artist, object type, location, date, and department.
British Library Images Online
Images Online is the picture library of the British Library, the national library of the United Kingdom.
New York Public Library Digital Commons
Spanning a wide range of historical eras, geography, and media, NYPL Digital Collections offers drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, videos, audio, and more. Items will be marked with copyright restrictions if they exist.
Open F|S
The complete digitized collections of the Freer and Sackler Galleries and the Freer Study Collection, the National Museums of Asian Art at the Smithsonian Institution in Washington D.C.
Flickr: The Commons
The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives.
Wikimedia Commons
A database of tens of thousands of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute
Screen Search
Magic lantern slides, film, videotape, digital formats, and associated hardware and documentation Resource Type Locate, collect, preserve, provide access to and promote screen material related to the South East and of general relevance to screen history. Over 7,000 films and some 10,000 lantern slides from the nineteenth century as well as a significant collection of apparatus and related artifacts.

Images

Citing Artwork in Chicago Style

When using images, make sure you cite them properly. All images used in research papers and presentations need to be cited -- even open access and creative commons images found online.

Artwork used to illustrate a research paper needs to be labeled and numbered as Figure 1., Figure 2., and so on.

Caption should include: artist's name, title of work (italicized), date, medium, measurements, and museum, archive, collection, or gallery which holds the work.

Under the caption, cite your source: the book, article, or website the image came from. Cite the source as if it were a full source in a footnote, including the page and figure numbers from the original. Be sure to include the URL and date accessed if your source is online.