LibGuides: Sociology Research Guide: Find Articles

Set up your library account

If you have not reset the password on your library account for the first time, you will need to do this to access your library account. Your library account is important for you to access databases from off-campus, view ebooks, request books, check fines, and more. View instructions to set up your account for the first time here:

Library account instructions

Finding Articles in Sociology

When researching a project, you will often have to find articles from respected sources. These can be found in our library's databases, which compile thousands of articles from hundreds of respected journals. Follow the links in the box below to search for articles in databases that are particularly helpful within the field of Sociology.

Sociology Databases

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
One of the most comprehensive business databases on the market, offering the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. It includes in-depth coverage from thousands of publications, most of them in full-text. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. Includes articles from the Wall Street Journal (1984-current ) and the Financial Times (1996-current [30-day embargo]).
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides broad coverage of most academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, and in the scholarly and general periodical literature. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 9,000 of those titles.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Search over 6,000 news sources across the United States and over 2,500 from around the world. Time coverage extends back 35 years for some sources, and the database is updated every day. Archival files Include the Omaha World Herald back to 1885.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 4,000 journals in all disciplines of business, including the Harvard Business Review (1922-current). Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of over 1,000 Core titles and features full text for more than 600 active periodicals, including 150 full text titles not found in other EBSCO academic databases. Also included is backfile coverage of top titles in Communication reaching deep into the 20th century.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text for articles published in journals spanning several disciplines, emphasizing articles which address criminal justice. Topical coverage includes crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
This database offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks, and many unique sources that were never previously available, covering all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education--as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
eHRAF This link opens in a new window
A systematically organized collection of thousands of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world.
Encyclopedia of group processes and intergroup relations This link opens in a new window
With approximately 300 entries, the two volumes of this encyclopedia cover concepts ranging from conformity to diversity and from small group interaction to intergroup relations on a global scale.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health information
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis, Nexis Uni provides access to more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including decisions of the Federal courts and the appellate courts of all 50 states. (Also includes Zacks Equity Research.)
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes full text articles from over 2,400 research journals across social science disciplines. Also includes working papers and doctoral dissertations.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text articles on current issues in psychology from scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from over 530 research journals. Includes extensive backfiles for a number of major journals.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Covers articles published in 1,400 periodicals in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, social work, business, political science, and law.
Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals provides access to article published in 1,200 research journals extending back to 1996.
Taylor & Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online offers articles published in over 2,100 research journals extending back to 1997.
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Science citation index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social sciences citation index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & humanities citation index from 1975 to the present.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles published in 1,500 research journals extending back to 1996.