Horror. Sadness. Protests. Military action. Conspiracy theories. From personal loss to economic upheaval to a paradigm shift in U.S. foreign relations, few events in the past 100 years have impacted American life so greatly as the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001. This comprehensive two-volume set details every event leading up to 9/11, going back up to a decade prior to the attacks, and including all participants from any place in the world. Also covered are events since the attack that have influenced our understanding of the ordeal. With A-Z entries, descriptive sidebars, and over 40 primary documents, The 9/11 Encyclopedia is an essential source for understanding one of the blackest marks on the pages of American history. Volume one presents A-Z entries on the event, including: Conspiracy theories Economic impact of 9/11 FBI and 9/11 Flight 93 Hamburg Group John O'Neill Khalid Sheik Mohammad Logan Airport Mohammad Atta New York Fire Department Osama Bin Laden Ramzi Ahmed Yousef World Trade Center Bombing (1993) Volume two includes over 40 primary documents relating to the event. Selections include: Osama Bin Laden's declaration of Jihad Richard Clarke's memorandum to Condoleezza Rice on al-Qaeda Oral testimony from survivors of the 9/11 attack Interview with Mullah Umar Muhammad The White House declaration on the humane treatment of al-Qaeda and Taliban Detainees
Billions of dollars and millions of people are involved in disaster relief, yet catastrophes around the world continue to take an enormous toll in human lives and treasure. Some disaster-relief efforts are more successful than others, with national governments playing a pivotal role. The response to the tsunami of 2004 can be cited among focused international efforts, while the relief to victims of Hurricane Katrina can be cited as more problematic. The international community is watching as China copes in new ways with the recent earthquake in Sichuan province and as relief efforts continue for earthquake victims in Haiti. This encyclopedia covers the response to disasters, from governments to NGOs, from charities to politics, from refugees to health, and from economics to international relations. Entries cover issues in both historical and contemporary context, with information on disaster relief around the world. The volumes include information relevant to students of sociology, national security, economics, health sciences, political science, emergency preparedness, history, agriculture, and many other subjects. The goal is to help readers appreciate the importance of the effects, responsibilities, and ethics of disaster relief, and to initiate educational discussion brought forth by the specific cultural, scientific, and topical articles contained within the work. Including 425 signed entries in a two-volume set presented in A-to-Z format, and drawing contributors from varied academic disciplines, this encyclopedia examines disaster response and relief in a manner that is authoritative yet accessible, jargon-free, and balanced to help readers better understand issues from varied perspectives.
Critical incidents all too often explode onto the social conscious and challenge our sense of security. This comprehensive handbook brings together a range of experts who provide a foundation for the field of critical incident analysis by examining specific incidents9/11, the Virginia Tech massacre, the H1N1 pandemic, the BP oil spill, and more--through various methodological and disciplinary lenses.
Disasters both natural and human-induced are leading to spiralling costs in terms of human lives, lost livelihoods and damaged assets and businesses. Yet these consequences and the financial and human crises that follow catastrophes can often be traced to policies unsuited to the emerging scales of the problems they confront, and the lack of institutional capacity to implement planning and prevention or to manage disasters. This book seeks to overcome this mismatch and to guide development of a more strategic policy and institutional framework. This updated and revised second edition includes new coverage of climate change adaptation, which has rapidly become central to disaster and emergency planning and management. This is an essential handbook for practitioners across the world seeking to improve the quality, robustness and capacity of their disaster management mechanisms.
Despite preemptive preparations, disasters can and do occur. Whether natural disasters, catastrophic accidents, or terrorist attacks, the risk cannot be completely eliminated. A carefully prepared response is your best defense. Handbook of Emergency Response: A Human Factors and Systems Engineering Approach presents practical advice and guidelines
The Wiley Handbook of Science and Technology for Homeland Security is an essential and timely collection of resources designed to support the effective communication of homeland security research across all disciplines and institutional boundaries. Truly a unique work this 4 volume set focuses on the science behind safety, security, and recovery from both man-made and natural disasters has a broad scope and international focus. The Handbook: Educates researchers in the critical needs of the homeland security and intelligence communities and the potential contributions of their own disciplines Emphasizes the role of fundamental science in creating novel technological solutions Details the international dimensions of homeland security and counterterrorism research Provides guidance on technology diffusion from the laboratory to the field Supports cross-disciplinary dialogue in this field between operational, R&D and consumer communities