LibGuides: Researching Omaha Past and Present: Local Resources

Local Resources

Omaha World Herald, 1885- This link opens in a new window
Search the Omaha World Herald historical image file (1885-1983) and the current text file(1983- ). Beginning in September 2018, a new current file includes searchable page and article images.
Omaha Star, 1938- This link opens in a new window
Search the Omaha Star historical file (1938-2011) and the current file (2011- )
The Gateway Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
UNO student newspaper The Gateway offers readers a glimpse into campus life. Articles, photos, advertisements, and specific dates can be searched in issues dating back to 1922. Current articles from The Gateway are available on the newspaper's website.

You can search the archives of the Omaha Star on their webpage. They charge for copies of the articles, but if you have dates and page numbers you may use the microfilm at UNO to make a copy for free.

UNO Magazine
PDF issues of UNO Magazine.
Omaha World Herald Tumblr
Interesting photos from the newspaper's archives.

Links to catalog searches

Books about Omaha History

Upstream Metropolis by Lawrence Harold Larsen; Kay Dalstrom
ISBN: 9781280823671
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Upstream Metropolis provides the first comprehensive history of this unique urban region that ranks 60th among the 370 major metropolitan areas in the United States. Drawing on local newspapers and historical archives, the authors deliver an anecdote-rich account of how and why a large metropolitan area developed in this spot.
Historic Omaha by Bob Reilly; Hugh Reilly; Pegeen Reilly
ISBN: 9781893619302
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
The Latino Experience in Omaha by D. A. Lopez
ISBN: 0773475613
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
This book provides a case study of Latino experience in America, specifically in the city of Omaha.
Omaha by Rob Levin
ISBN: 9781883987244
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
E Pluribus Omaha by Harry B. Otis; Donald H. Erickson; James Clemon (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781930644045
Publication Date: 2000-04-01
Omaha-- : 150-- and counting by Omaha World-Herald
Publication Date: 2004

Reports/Dissertations

UNO Center for Public Affairs Research
The Center for Public Affairs Research is a research and community outreach unit of the UNO College of Public Affairs and Community Service. Reports compile census data

Dissertations and Theses @ UNO This link opens in a new window
All doctoral dissertations written at the University of Nebraska at Omaha have been scanned and are hosted on the Internet by ProQuest. UNO master's theses will gradually populate the database as well.