These surveys have been conducted to document properties that possess historic or architectural significance. To date, over eighteen (18) areas in Omaha have been identified and surveyed in the subject neighborhoods for Nebraska Historic Building Survey level studies with thousands of properties and districts recommended as potentially eligible for the National Register, both as individual properties and districts.
The H. A. Raapke Architectural Drawings collection contains original architectural drawings and studies dating from 1899 to 1907. The collection includes one sketchbook (9.5" x 7.5") with detached pages, containing detailed, precise pencil sketches of architectural flourishes, initialled HAR and annotated with measurements, locations in Italy and Germany, and dates (1906-1907). The bulk of the collection comprises 48 loose sheets (most 18.5" x 24.5") with detailed architectural drawings in pencil, some with watercolor accents. Some are stamped "Altier Préparatoire D'Architecture, Godefroy & Freynet, 4, Rue du Dragon, 4 - Paris" or "Ecole Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Concours D'Emulation."
The designs shown in this book have been selected from work designed and planned by H. D. Frankfurt, Architect, of Omaha.
It was the publisher's aim to place before the public a high class book, showing modern and artistic buildings of various classes, which show the different styles of architecture, treated in different ways, and to suit various circumstances, as each individual location has its peculiarities and necessitates an entirely different class and design of building.
With the sixteen years of practical experience and technical training Mr. Frankfurt has had, the Architectural Department of Hastings & Heyden hope to give its clients the very best possible service that can be obtained, and this Department is open at all times to give information or make sketches for our prospective clients, and give estimates on cost of buildings. Investment possibilities, rental value, etc., will also be cheerfully given without charge. We will be glad· to submit floor plans for any design shown in this book. We also have over two hundred stock plans of various designs of houses and buildings on file in our office, which you can select from, and if no changes are made can be sec~red for a very small amount.
The UNO Physical Plant records are concerned with the buildings of the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessor the University of Omaha. The records include both current buildings and buildings which no longer exist or are no longer UNO property, and cover the period from approximately 1908 to the present, although the vast majority of records cover the period from the 1970s to the present. The records comprise plans and program statements, physical plant information by building, architectural blueprints, and miscellaneous information.
The UNO Athletics Collection comprises a large and diverse array of materials related to the various athletics programs at the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessor the Municipal University of Omaha, including scrapbooks, photographs and slides, artifacts and memorabilia, trophies and awards, papers of athletics department faculty and staff, paintings, news and publicity material, blueprints, and audiovisual recordings, from about 1924 to the present. Included are materials related to specific sports programs; individual student athletes, coaches and directors; facilities; departmental administration; and Campus Recreation activities.
This collection includes organizational records from the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessors, the Municipal University of Omaha and the University of Omaha, dating from the institution's founding in 1908 to the present. Records originated from many colleges, schools, departments, offices, committees, faculty and staff organizations, student organizations, and alumni. Materials include publications, event programs, conference materials, publicity material, meeting minutes, correspondence, budget information, internal reports, policies, architectural drawings, photographs, and miscellaneous records from various UNO and UNO-affiliated groups or relating to UNO people, buildings, events, and academic programs.
The UNO Artifact Collection includes objects related to the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessor the University of Omaha, from circa 1908 to the present. The collection includes a diverse array of OU and UNO branded items, t-shirts, hats, sweaters, blankets, scrapbooks, proclamations, trophies, award plaques, flags, pennants, pins, pens, seat cushions, coffee mugs, toys, ephemera, memorabilia, and other objects.
The UNO Annual Reports collection comprises the printed monthly and annual reports of the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessor the Municipal University of Omaha, covering the period from 1929 through 1995.
The Durham Science Center Building Records cover the planning and construction of the Durham Science Center building on the University of Nebraska at Omaha Dodge Street campus. Construction began in 1985, and the building was open for classes in Fall, 1987. The building houses several departments, including Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, and Geology/Geography. The records include bond purchasing agreements, construction information, budget information, committee information, correspondence, planning documents, and other miscellaneous documentation, spanning the period from about 1980 until about 1987.
The Peter Kiewit Conference Center Building Records cover the planning and construction of the Peter Kiewit Conference Center, a University of Nebraska at Omaha off-campus facility located at 1313 Farnam Street in Omaha, Nebraska. The project was authorized in 1976 by the Nebraska State Legislature Appropriations Committee with LB 1006. Construction began in 1977 and was completed in 1980.
The UNO Criss Library Records are comprised of materials produced by or used by the Dr. C.C. and Mabel L. Criss Library of the University of Nebraska at Omaha, and its predecessors the University Library and the Eugene C. Eppley Library.