LibGuides: Military and Veteran Library Resources: Research Help

Preparing for Deployment?

If you need articles emailed or book pages scanned and emailed, contact Tammi Owens, your Military and Veteran Services Librarian.

Don't know where to start with your research paper?
Start by making an appointment with your librarian.

Librarians can help you:

Find a research topic.
Make a research plan.
Search for scholarly books, articles, & more.
Cite your sources.

It's our job to help you understand your research assignment, cut through the jargon and confusion, and help you make a checklist for timely completion of your work.

Best Databases for Military Research

Find articles for your paper or project on military, business, law, or science topics in these databases.

Military & Government Collection
Contains 320 periodicals focused on military concerns, along with reports issued by government agencies like the U.S. Government Accountability Office and the Congressional Budget Office.
Homeland Security Digital Library
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
ABI/INFORM Global
Some full-text. Find business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. Includes the Wall Street Journal and the Financial Times.
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis has moved to the new Nexis Uni platform. It provides access to more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources. (Includes Zacks Equity Research)
Web of Knowledge/Web of Science
Provides access to the Science citation index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social sciences citation index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & humanities citation index from 1975 to the present.
Academic Search Complete
Provides broad coverage of most academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, and in the scholarly and general periodical literature. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 9,000 of those titles.