Journalism Research Guide

Formerly LexisNexis, Nexis Uni provides access to more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including decisions of the Federal courts and the appellate courts of all 50 states. (Also includes Zacks Equity Research.)

Search over 6,000 news sources across the United States and over 2,500 from around the world. Time coverage extends back 35 years for some sources, and the database is updated every day. Archival files Include the Omaha World Herald back to 1885.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context provides authoritative overviews of major social issues, and it help readers navigate complex issues by presenting a wide range of thoughtful, pro-con perspectives.

The American Periodicals Series brings the early days of U.S. history alive through more than 7,000,000 digitized page images from over 1,000 periodicals spanning 200 years. The wide variety of content ranges from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, first published in 1741, to literary and professional journals, specialized titles, and such well-known magazines as Vanity Fair, Ladies' Home Journal, Scientific American, and The Dial.

UNO students, faculty, and staff are eligible for a personal account for the online New York Times. Click here to login through your library account to validate your eligibility, and then set up a New York Times account using your unomaha.edu email address as your username.

A UNO account includes access to the TimesMachine, the scanned archive extending back to 1851. Click into the menu at the upper left of the NYT homepage and then click "More" and then "TimesMachine."

The archival database for the Wall Street Journal, containing scanned and searchable issues and articles extending from 1889-2012, with another year added annually.

500 U.S. newspapers published during the 1800s, fully scanned and searchable.

Articles published in over 700 newspapers between 1690 and 1876.