Skip to main content

Religious Studies Research Guide: Find Articles

Use this guide to find UNO library resources and other helpful research tools.

Library Databases

These six library databases provide the best coverage of articles published in research journals especially pertinent to Religious Studies:

Other library databases may also prove of interest, depending on specific emphasis; for example,

You can find a complete list of Criss Library's databases in the A-Z Databases directory.

Are you off-campus?

When you click to connect to a database, you may be prompted to log-in to your library account to confirm that you are a UNO student and eligible for access.  This is especially true for off-campus computers.  If you have not set up a Criss Library account, you may click here to retrieve instructions.

Historical periodicals, newspapers, and books

Criss Library has purchased archive databases that contain magazines, newspapers, and books extending back many decades and even centuries.  Depending on your interest and emphasis, they may prove helpful for research in certain aspects of Religious Studies.  The research guide Primary Source Databases describes these resources in more detail.

Mawman's "Tour Through Scotland," 1806

Finding elusive journal articles

In most cases journal articles will be immediately available online. However, a database may sometimes describe an article but not actually include a copy.  You can search for the title of a journal in the eJournals directory to see if the journal is available in a different database.  The library subscribes to over 200 databases, so it is usually worth checking.

You may also search the title of a journal in the library catalog to see if the library has a physical subscription in the Periodicals Collection. The catalog will provide a call number and note the volumes and years owned by the library.

If any particular article is just entirely unavailable, submit an Interlibrary Loan request to obtain a copy from another library.