UNO News

Loading RSS Feed...
Library News

Loading RSS Feed...
Research Services News

Loading RSS Feed...
Get to Know UNO

Loading Video Clip...
Welcome!
Hi,
My name is Lola Gilbert. I work in the Research Services Unit at UNO's Criss Library. Some of my responsibilities include providing library instruction for English 116 and Speech 1110. I also have the privilege of being the Dual Enrollment Coordinator for the library. On this page you will find information and resources about library instruction and the Dual Enrollment Program.
Thank you,
Lola Gilbert
What we offer...
Presentations
Presentations are available upon the request of a dual enrollment instructor or library media specialist. Please use the form below to make your request.
Library Instruction
Dual enrollment faculty and students have access to the Criss Library databases. Instructional sessions on using a particular database (or group of databases) can be arranged by completing the form below. Sessions can either be at your school or at the UNO campus.
Library Tours
Aside from our electronic resources, the UNO Criss Library also has other resources that dual enrollment students or faculty may find helpful or interesting. Some of these resources include our Language Learning Center and live feed from the Hubble telescope. Tours of UNO's Criss Library can be arranged by completing the form below.
Librarian Faculty Status and Training
Librarians at high schools that participate in the Dual Enrollment Program through UNO may apply for faculty status. Librarians who have been granted faculty status have off-campus access to most of UNO Criss Library's databases. Instructional sessions on using a particular database (or group of databases) can be arranged by contacting me. Sessions can conducted at your school, at our campus, or through our virtual classroom.
Scheduling Presentations, Tours, Instruction, or Labs
To schedule a presentation, tour, instruction, or a lab please complete a CRISS LIBRARY VISIT/INSTRUCTION REQUEST FORM . Smaller groups are more easily accommodated than larger ones. Due to limited numbers of computers and classroom space, it is better to bring smaller groups or divide larger ones into groups doing different tasks in different areas of the library. A ratio of one high school instructor per 15 students is recommended.
Program Information
- Students enrolled in UNOs Dual Enrollment program have the same borrowing and access privileges as UNO Undergraduate Students.
- Off-campus access to most of UNOs databases. Students may use any of UNO's databases, not just those related to the courses they are taking through dual enrollment. Some databases limited to on-campus use due to licensing restrictions.
- Interlibrary loan (ILL) privileges.
- Check out up to 50 books at a time for 4 weeks, with renewal(s) available.
- Multimedia resources (CDs, DVDs, etc.) available for check out.
- Reserve Items available for check out.
- Group Study Rooms available for checkout.
- Tranquility Rooms available for checkout.
- Individual consultation with Subject Specialist in your area of study.
Things to Bring
You may want to bring the following items when you visit Criss Library:
- A student ID or driver's license
- Money for purchasing a print card and/or making copies.
- A flash drive or other storage device
You may want to know the following items when you visit Criss Library:
- NU ID Number (located on your Mav Card). If you do not know your NU ID number please contact Lola Gilbert at 554-3638.
- NU ID User Name
What would you add to/delete from this page?
Subject Guide |
Lola GilbertCriss Library
6001 Dodge Street
Omaha, Nebraska
68182
402.554.3638
Send Email
Subjects:
Dual Enrollment, English, Lola Gilbert, High School Visitors, Speech 1110, US 1010
Parking at UNO
MONDAY-FRIDAY
When you get to UNO, stop at the Thompson Alumni Center at the west end of campus (67th and Dodge Streets) and go to the reception desk in the lobby. Tell the receptionist that you have come to UNO to visit the library, and he or she will write you a visitor's parking permit, which will allow you to park in any student or faculty lot.
NOTE: The Alumni Center is open Monday - Friday, 7:30am - 5:00pm.
If you prefer, you can contact me to have a parking permit mailed to you. Please allow enough time in advance for mail delivery.
WEEKENDS
The UNO campuses have open parking on the weekends. No permits are required. However, the reserve stalls are ticketed 24/7. Visitors can park in any surface faculty, staff or student lot as long as it is not a reserve stall. Reserve stalls are noted with a sign in front of the stall - handicap, service vehicle, etc.
What to know...
Are you a Dual Enrollment student? Distanced Education Student? Member of the High School Users program? Or, will you be visiting our library? If you haven't used our library before, just click the link below to find out more about what you'll need when you get here or how to login to databases without coming to our campus.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait