LibGuides: Dual Enrollment: Databases

Get to the Databases

Databases can be reached from our home page by selecting the Databases tab and clicking on 'Database A to Z' or Top Databases.

A-Z Databases
Alphabetical list of all databases.
Top Databases
The most popular databases at Criss Library.

Top Databases for You

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides broad coverage of most academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, and in the scholarly and general periodical literature. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 9,000 of those titles.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations for articles published in over 2,000 periodicals which address the history of the United States and Canada. The database also indexes books, book reviews, and Ph.D. dissertations.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
The Gale Virtual Reference Library includes the following resources: Business Plans Handbook, International Directory of Company Histories, Children's Literature Review, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Authors New Revision Series, and Something about the Author.

JSTOR
JSTOR provides exact page images of archival scholarly journals in multiple subject areas. It provides full-text and full page images and requires Adobe Acrobat Reader.
more...less...
JSTOR’s “moving wall” or embargo period may not allow access for the most recent 2-5 years of each journal title. Subject coverage for the humanities is broad, including music, art, art history, literature, linguistics, film studies, folklore, theatre and performing arts. ARTStor/JSTOR cross platform searching is available in JSTOR’s Basic Search mode.
Credo Reference
A comprehensive place to start, Literati creates topic pages to match your search and also links to searches in many of our databases.

Gale: Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Brings together several Gale literary databases into one search platform including Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online, and Something About the Author.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis, Nexis Uni provides access to more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including decisions of the Federal courts and the appellate courts of all 50 states. (Also includes Zacks Equity Research.)
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This psychology database provides more than 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1800s. Includes full-text and citations.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista offers over 1 million statistics ranging across a myriad of social, economic, and market-related topics. Data may be exported in PPT, XLS, PDF, and PNG formats.

Help! Where's my article?

Although our databases contain thousands of full-text articles, you will likely run into articles that are not available in full-text online or might be in print at the library. So what do you do?

1. If PDF or HTML full text options are not available, click the Get Item button.

2. Get Item will search the databases for the article. If available, you will be able to open it in a new window. If we don't have access, you will be taken to a catalog page with the message: Access full text via journal or collection links below. We were unable to find direct full text links for this item.

3. But don't worry! Click on Request Item through Interlibrary Loan to open a request to receive the article from another library.

Get Item - Full Text Tutorial
Brief tutorial showing 'View Full Text' after clicking 'Get Item' icon.
Get Item - Interlibrary Loan Tutorial
Brief tutorial on accessing Interlibrary loan from 'Get Item' icon.
Interlibrary Loan Account
Set up or access your Interlibrary Loan account.

Get Help

Help is just a click away

Send a question to library staff...

Or schedule a one-on-one research consultation with a librarian...