LibGuides: University Archives: UNO and OU Football

Online Exhibit

Marlin "The Magician" Briscoe: The Legendary Quarterback of the University of Omaha
In 1968, Marlin Briscoe was the first African American starting quarterback in the AFL, blazing a trail for future African American athletes. In his nine-year career with the AFL and NFL, he played for the Denver Broncos, Buffalo Bills (where he spent the majority of his career), Miami Dolphins (winning two Super Bowls), San Diego Chargers, Detroit Lions, and New England Patriots. This online exhibit shares his success as a hometown hero from Omaha South High School who brought glory to the University of Omaha (the predecessor of the University of Nebraska at Omaha).

History of UNO Football

History of UNO Football
From a UNO Athletics Media Guide.

UNO and OU Football Media Guides and Game Programs

Football Media Guides
OU and UNO Football Media Guides published by Athletics at the beginning of each season. The 2010 guide was for all fall sports. Contact UNO Libraries' Archives and Special Collections if you have a copy of any media guides missing from Archives and Special Collections if you are able to donate a copy.
Football Programs
As of August 2022, the UNO Football programs are currently being digitized with most game programs from 1932-1988 held by Archives and Special Collections available online. UNO Libraries' collection of programs from 1989 forward will be available online in the future. If you have game programs not seen on the website, UNO Libraries requests that you consider donating your copies to Archives and Special Collections to ensure the collection can be more complete.
Football Schedules, Correspondence, and Other Records

UNO Libraries' Archives and Special Collections has dozens of UNO and OU Football game programs and annual media guides in the university archives. If you have media guides or game programs not seen on the website, UNO Libraries requests that you consider donating your copies to Archives and Special Collections to ensure the collection is more complete.
Supporters can help make these historical materials more widely available online by making a donation to the UNO Football Archives Fund. Archives and Special Collections is seeking programs and media guides to ensure a complete collection is preserved in perpetuity in the archives. Please contact an archivist to donate material to the archives.

UNO and OU Football Photographs

OU and UNO football players and teams, 1910-1969
Photographs of OU and UNO Football players and coaches in games, practices, media days, and at related events.

UNO Libraries' Archives and Special Collections has thousands of photographs of UNO and OU Football players, coaches, and fans available in the university archives. Contact the department for assistance finding specific images. Supporters can help make these historical materials more widely available online by making a donation to the UNO Football Archives Fund.

UNO and OU Football Photo Albums on Flickr
Largely digitized photos, negatives, and slides from the 1970s-early 2000s with some earlier images.

OU and UNO football players and teams, 1910-1969
Photographs of OU and UNO Football players and coaches in games, practices, media days, and at related events.
UNO and OU Football Photo Albums on Flickr
Largely digitized photos, negatives, and slides from the 1970s-early 2000s with some earlier images.

OU and UNO football players and teams, 1910-1969
Photographs of OU and UNO Football players and coaches in games, practices, media days, and at related events.
UNO and OU Football Photo Albums on Flickr
Largely digitized photos, negatives, and slides from the 1970s-early 2000s with some earlier images.

UNO and OU Football Photo Albums on Flickr
Largely digitized photos, negatives, and slides from the 1970s-early 2000s with some earlier images.
UNO football players, coaches, teams, and games, 1970s
Over 500 photos from the 1970s with more photos published in the near future.
UNO vs. NWM, September 1978
Testing a different platform to share 32 photos from the September 16, 1978 night game vs. Northwest Missouri.
First Night Practice on Artificial Grass, April 1974
UNO vs. Morningside, September, 14, 1974

UNO and OU Football Photo Albums on Flickr
Largely digitized photos, negatives, and slides from the 1970s-early 2000s with some earlier images.

More digital copies of photographs, negatives, slides, and born-digital images for UNO football teams from the 1960s-2000s are coming soon.
UNO Libraries' Archives and Special Collections has thousands of analog photographs of UNO and OU Football players, coaches, and fans available in the university archives. Contact the department for assistance finding specific images. Supporters can help make these historical materials more widely available online by making a donation to the UNO Football Archives Fund.

UNO Photograph Digital Collection
The UNO Photograph Collections includes prints, negatives, slides, and digital images from the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessors, the Municipal University of Omaha and the University of Omaha, dating from the institution's founding in 1908 to the present. A small portion of the collection is available online
more...less...
Contact Archives and Special Collections for assistance with images not yet digitized and available online.

Tangerine Bowl Digital Collection
The collection of digitized material from the 1954 OU Football team's Tangerine Bowl championship season includes dozens of photographs of events in Omaha and Florida leading up to the game, the game, and celebrations after the game. Also available is a copy of the game program and a poster created for the 2014 event honoring the players.

UNO and OU Football Films

Omaha University vs Morningside College Football Game, 1937
Football team visits Rocky Mountains, 1948; Ma-Ei Day, 1949
No footage of football game.
Omaha University vs. Eastern Kentucky, Tangerine Bowl, January 1, 1955
The undefeated 1954 Omaha University football team played in the ninth annual Tangerine Bowl on January 1, 1955. Lloyd Cardwell coached the Omaha Indians to a 7-6 victory over Eastern Kentucky State during the game. The team was the first from the Midwest to play in the Bowl. The Tangerine Bowl subsequently was renamed the Citrus Bowl. The audio recording of the WOW radio broadcast by Jack Payne was synced with the film of the pre-game and game activities by the UNO Criss Library in 2013. The original audio and video recordings are part of the UNO Libraries' Archives and Special Collections holdings.
Omaha University vs. Northern Illinois State Football Game and Homecoming, November 9, 1957
Omaha University vs. Drake University Football Game, November 10, 1965
Selected clips from the football game. Omaha wears the light jerseys in the black and white film. This is the only known film of Marlin Briscoe playing during his OU career.

If you have additional game films that you wish to donate, please contact Amy Schindler, Director of Archives and Special Collections, (acschindler@unomaha.edu, 402-554-6046).

Online access to UNO Football game films from the 1970s-1980s donated to UNO Libraries' Archives and Special Collections in recent years by generous alumni is forthcoming. If you have additional game films that you wish to donate, please contact Amy Schindler, Director of Archives and Special Collections, (acschindler@unomaha.edu, 402-554-6046).

1992-1999 Football Seasons
Select from links to games in sidebar

2000-2005 Football Seasons
Select from links to game in sidebar

Interviews with UNO and OU Football Coaches and Staff

Reflections in Time is a series of 125 interviews produced from 1979 to 2007 with former OU and UNO staff, faculty, administrators, alumni, and others. Of the 125 interviews in this series, the first 73 programs were produced by UNO Professor of Communication Paul Borge and the final 52 were produced by UNO Dean of Arts & Sciences Jack Newton.

Lloyd Cardwell Interview, 1982
In 1982, Lloyd Cardwell, retired University of Nebraska at Omaha Professor (1946-1978) of Physical Education, was interviewed by Paul Borge for Reflections in Time. Biography: Lloyd Cardwell received a B.S. (1953) from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Cardwell served as University of Nebraska at Omaha head coach of football (1947-1959) and track (1959-1978). Before arriving at UNO Coach Cardwell was an All-American on the 1934-1936 University of Nebraska football squads and later played for the Detroit football Lions (1937-1944), earning All-Pro football honors in 1938 and 1939. Cardwell's 1954 Omaha football squad finished the season undefeated (10-0) after a 7-6 victory over Eastern Kentucky in the 1955 Tangerine Bowl. In 1978, Lloyd Cardwell was inducted into the UNO Athletic Hall of Fame.
Don Pflasterer Interview
In July of 1982, Don Pflasterer (1918-1999), retired University of Nebraska at Omaha Professor (1946-1979) of Physical Education, Head Basketball Coach, Assistant Dean of Student Personnel, and Ombudsman, was interviewed by Paul Borge for Reflections in Time. Professor Don Pflastererreceiveda B.A. (1941) from the Municipal University of Omaha and an M.Ed. (1952) from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Professor Pflasterer was inducted into the UNO Athletic Hall of Fame in 1976 and into the Nebraska Football Hall of Fame in 1990.
Ernie Gorr Interview, 1982
In the summer of 1982, Ernie Gorr (1910-1987), retired University of Nebraska at Omaha Professor (1947-1976) of Health, Physical Education and Recreation, was interviewed by Paul Borge for Reflections in Time. Professor Ernie Gorr was born in Saint Edward’s, NE. He received a B.S. (1933) from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and an M.S. (1954) from the Municipal University of Omaha. Professor Gorr began the University of Omaha Cross Country program in 1952 and coached the OU tennis, football, and track teams from 1951 to 1961. He served as President of the Midwestern Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) Association and Chair of the National Association of Inter Collegiate Athletics (NAIA) cross-country championship.
UNO Scene: Sandy Buda, UNO Head Football Coach
UNO Scene TV Show, September 16, 1987, episode number 39. Paul Borge interviews Sandy Buda, UNO's Head Football Coach, about UNO's end of season overview and upcoming fall season.

UNO and OU Football Archival Collections

UNO Athletics Collection
The UNO Athletics Collection is comprised of a large and diverse array of materials related to the various athletics programs at the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessor the Municipal University of Omaha, including scrapbooks, programs and media guides, news and publicity material, and more. Material related specifically to Connie Claussen includes UNO Women's softball, Women's College World Series memorabilia (1968), "UNO Memories of Connie Claussen 1963-1998" scrapbook, and more material created by and/or about Claussen.
UNO Artifact Collection
The UNO Artifact Collection includes objects related to the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessor the University of Omaha, from circa 1908 to the present. The collection includes a diverse array of OU and UNO branded items, t-shirts, hats, sweaters, blankets, scrapbooks, proclamations, trophies, award plaques, flags, pennants, pins, pens, seat cushions, coffee mugs, toys, ephemera, memorabilia, and other objects.
University Archives File Cabinet Collection (University of Nebraska at Omaha Records)
This collection includes organizational records from the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessors, the Municipal University of Omaha and the University of Omaha, dating from the institution's founding in 1908 to the present. Records originated from many colleges, schools, departments, offices, committees, faculty and staff organizations, student organizations, and alumni. Materials include publications, event programs, conference materials, publicity material, meeting minutes, correspondence, budget information, internal reports, policies, architectural drawings, photographs, and miscellaneous records from various UNO and UNO-affiliated groups or relating to UNO people, buildings, events, and academic programs.
Oldham Paisley University of Omaha Scrapbook
Scrapbook documenting student life at the University of Omaha includes photographs, news clippings, dance cards, invitations, party favors, train tickets, programs, tickets and other material about sporting events including football and basketball, voting, and other ephemera. Items of note including a half walnut shell that may have been a party favor, a small sign that reads "Votes for Women" and other references to the right to vote for women, and notes about Paisley by other students and faculty. The scrapbook was printed with the university's name and seal.
Crete Relay Scrapbook
The Crete Relay was organized in 1952 by the OU Alumni Association after an invitation from the Mayor of Omaha to the Mayor of Crete to sit with him at the OU Homecoming game against Doane College. OU alumni and students ran a 102-mile relay to hand-deliver the event ticket to Crete. The album includes news clippings, copies of the letters exchanged, and related material.
Tangerine Bowl Celebration Collection
Material from the celebration of the 1955 Tangerine Bowl Championship football on April 12, 2014, including photographs, news clippings, copies of the game film and audio, and other material.
Tom and Medora Harper Tangerine Bowl Collection
The Tom and Medora Harper Tangerine Bowl collection includes programs, tickets, news clippings, a scrapbook, and t-shirt related to football at Omaha University and specifically the Tangerine Bowl. Tom Harper was a member of the class of 1956.
Bernice Corbaley Collection
The Bernice Corbaley collection contains material from 1931-1932 including: the program from the November 31, 1931, University of Omaha Homecoming football contest against Wayne; two copies of the Municipal University of Omaha Student Council Constitution; and a few newspaper clippings.
Clarence (Gene) Sage Collection
The Clarence (Gene) Sage Collection includes photographs, news clippings, souvenir programs, books, ephemera, and artifacts related to football at the University of Omaha, circa 1952-1956. Much of the material relates to the Tangerine Bowl victory on January 1, 1955, including a scrapbook featuring the game on the cover and a commemorative wristwatch and belt buckle presented to OU football players following the victorious season.
Fred Moyer Collection
The Fred Moyer Collection includes game programs (1954-1956), tickets (Tangerine Bowl, 1969 season), photographs, news clippings, pages from a scrapbook, and other material documenting the football team at the University of Omaha predominantly from 1954 to 1957 including the 1955 Tangerine Bowl championship team. The collection also includes one photo of the OU baseball team.

OU & UNO Yearbooks

The newest digital collection from Criss Library, the University of Nebraska at Omaha's yearbooks, have been digitized and are now available from the Internet Archive and DigitalCommons@UNO.

Breakaway. The Omahan. The Gateway. Tomahawk. Maverick. The university's yearbook went by several names beginning as the Gateway then changing names to the Omahan, Tomahawk, and Breakaway before ending as the Maverick from 1973-1975. The first yearbook, the Gateway (1915-1927), shares its name with the university’s longtime student newspaper. The Tomahawk endured as the campus publication's name the longest from 1936 through 1970. In addition to the name changes, users will notice the changing composition of the volumes over the years as materials and styles evolved.

Whatever the yearbook's name or format, users will find each volume keyword searchable or able to be read like a book online. Yearbooks typically include photos and information about students, events, and faculty. In addition to student organizations, athletics, the arts, and other activities, the yearbooks also present opportunities for alumni, current students, and interested researchers to investigate changing fashions, popular culture, advertisements, and events through the lens of the university's students.

This exciting project was made possible through the LYRASIS Digitization Collaborative – a Sloan Foundation grant-subsidized program that has made digitization easy and affordable for libraries and cultural institutions across the country.

Through the Collaborative’s partnership with the Internet Archive, all items were scanned from cover- to-cover and in full color. You can choose from a variety of formats, page through a book choosing the “read online” option, download the PDF or search the full text version.

Copies of each volume of the yearbook are also available for use in Criss Library Archives & Special Collections.

The Gateway Student Newspaper

The Gateway Newspaper Archive was launched in 2007 by UNO Libraries as a UNO Centennial Project. UNO student newspaper The Gateway offers readers a glimpse into campus life. Articles, photo captions, advertisements, and specific dates can be searched in newspaper issues dating back to 1922. Current issues of The Gateway are available on the newspaper's website.

Contact me

Amy Schindler

She, Her, Hers

Email Me

Contact:

She | Her | Hers
Dr. C.C. and Mabel L. Criss Library
University of Nebraska Omaha
6001 Dodge St.
Omaha, NE 68182-0237

402-554-6046

Subjects: Archives & Special Collections, Graduate Studies

Donations to the Archives

Your donation will contribute to the preservation and growth of the UNO Football archives by supporting the conservation and digitization of these historical materials, allowing them to be more widely available online. You can make a gift to the UNO Football Archives Fund online.

If you have photographs, film or video recordings, game programs or other memorabilia, please contact an archivist to donate the material to the archives or seek advice on its care.

University of Nebraska-Omaha Football

University of Nebraska-Omaha Football by Darren Ivy
Call Number: GV958.O4 I9 2015
ISBN: 9781467114615
Publication Date: 2015-10-19
From its inaugural season in 1911 through its final season, the University of Nebraska at Omaha football team always faced an uphill struggle in terms of resources. The program reached a pinnacle in 1954 with its lone unbeaten season. Many other teams and individuals also found great success, winning conference titles and bowl games and moving onto professional careers. Just because the school no longer offers football, it does not mean that the thousands of men who played for the Mavericks from 1971 to 2011, the Indians from 1939 to 1971, and the Cardinals and the Maroons before should not be remembered and honored for the years they poured their hearts and souls into the Omaha football program.

A History of the University of Nebraska at Omaha 1908-1983

A History of the University of Nebraska at Omaha 1908-1983
The author of A History of the University of Nebraska at Omaha 1908-1983, Dr. Tommy R. Thompson, professor of history at UNO, describes milestone events, activities, good times and bad, fortunes and misfortunes, in a readable and lively style. Through the accurate descriptions and nostalgic pictures readers will experience again the growth and development of one of Nebraska's leading educational institutions.
This book is the first published history of the University of Nebraska of Omaha. It is an integral part of UNO's Diamond Jubilee Celebration, tying together the rich history of the university's first 75 years in a colorful manner.

Archives & Special Collections Home

Archives & Special Collections Home
Visit this page to learn about our collecting areas, current exhibits, and special programs.
Using the Collection
Visit this page to learn about finding material in Archives & Special Collections, browsing topical research guides, and preparing for your visit.