University Archives

Nearly every issue of UNO’s student newspaper, The Gateway , is available on-line stretching back to the 1920s.

The University of Nebraska at Omaha yearbook was known as the Gateway from 1915-1927; then changed names to the Omahan from 1928-1929; then changed names to the Tomahawk from 1936-1970; then changed names to Breakaway from 1971-1972; before ending as the University of Nebraska at Omaha's Maverick from 1973-1975. The first yearbook, the Gateway (1915-1927), shares its name with the university’s longtime student newspaper. No yearbook was published in 1930-1935.

The author of A History of the University of Nebraska at Omaha 1908-1983, Dr. Tommy R. Thompson, professor of history at UNO, describes milestone events, activities, good times and bad, fortunes and misfortunes, in a readable and lively style. Through the accurate descriptions and nostalgic pictures readers will experience again the growth and development of one of Nebraska's leading educational institutions.
This book is the first published history of the University of Nebraska of Omaha. It is an integral part of UNO's Diamond Jubilee Celebration, tying together the rich history of the university's first 75 years in a colorful manner.

The records of the University of Nebraska at Omaha Faculty Senate (1967-ongoing) include minutes, agendas, publications, committee handbooks, faculty salary reports, annual reports, attendance records, bylaws, budget information, correspondence, grievances, policies, topics for consideration, election information, resolutions, retreat information, schedules, membership information, and other miscellaneous information.

In October of 2006, B.J. Reed, University of Nebraska at Omaha Professor (1982-2018) & Chair (1985-2000) of Public Administration, Dean (2001-2012) of the College of Public Affairs & Community Service, and Senior Vice Chancellor (2012-2018) for Academic and Student Affairs, was interviewed by Jack Newton for Reflections in Time.

In 2005, Jerry Cederblom, University of Nebraska at Omaha Professor (1972-) of Philosophy and a founding (1972) faculty member of the UNO Goodrich Scholarship Program, was interviewed by Jack Newton for Reflections in Time. Cederblom also served as faculty coordinator for the Thompson Learning Community.

In 2006, Karen Ressegieu, Administrative Assistant (1964-2017) in the University of Nebraska at Omaha College of Public Affairs and Community Service,was interviewed by Jack Newton for Reflections in Time. Karen Ressegieu received a B.G.S. from UNO in 1972. Ressegieu came to UNO (then the Municipal University of Omaha) in 1964 as a secretary in the College of Liberal Arts. She has served as an Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Arts & Sciences, the Dean of Public Affairs and Community Service, the Vice-Chancellor of Academic Affairs, and the founding Director of the UNO Aviation Institute.

In March of 2001, Don Dendinger, University of Nebraska at Omaha Professor (1977-) of Social Work and Director of the Goodrich Program, was interviewed by Jack Newton for Reflections in Time.

On September 17, 1985, Robert Spire, Municipal University of Omaha regent (1963-1968) and final chair, was interviewed by Paul Borge for Reflections in Time. Robert Spire (1925-1994) was a graduate (1943) of Omaha Central High School. He graduated from the Julliard School of Music in New York City, Harvard University, and the Harvard University Law School. Mr. Spire served as the Attorney General of Nebraska (1985-1991) and president of the Nebraska Bar Association. In 1972, he helped establish the UNO College of Public Affairs and Community Service.

Overview of the College of Public Affairs and Community Service (CPACS), its programs and departments, and interviews with Robert M. Spire, Dr. David Hinton, Assoc. Dean, C.P.A.C.S., Wilda Stephenson, Senior Community Service Associate, Center for Applied Urban Research. Number 4 in the University of Nebraska at Omaha's Diamond Jubilee series. Sponsored by UNO's College of Continuing Studies in cooperation with television station KMTV. From the series TV Classroom.

The College of Continuing Studies pioneered in the field of lifelong learning. Interviews are with Alan Hackel, George Boddy, and Larry Winkler. Number 7 in the University of Nebraska at Omaha's Diamond Jubilee series. Sponsored by UNO's College of Continuing Studies in cooperation with television station KMTV. From the series TV Classroom.

Ms. Destiny Sturdivant, Omaha comedian and LGBTQ+ advocate, was interviewed by Luke Wegener on September 20, 2018 in Papillion-La Vista, Nebraska.

The UNO Center for Public Affairs Research Publications comprises the publications of the University of Nebraska at Omaha's Center for Public Affairs Research (CPAR, 1989 to present), under its current name and under its previous names, the Center for Applied Urban Research (CAUR, 1971-1989), the Center for Urban Affairs (CUA, 1968-1971), and the Urban Studies Center (USC, 1963-1968). Publications in the collection date from 1966 to 2018.

The UNO School of Social Work Collection comprises the records and resources of the School of Social Work at the University of Nebraska at Omaha, from about 1975 until about 2010. The collection includes self-study reports from 1977, 1982, and 1989; an accreditation report from 1975, when the school was in danger of losing its accreditation; admission information and worksheets; an advisement handbook (1981); student handbooks (1976-1996); practicum manuals (1981 and 1985); Social Work 8100 course materials (1991); Rural Mental Health Conference Proceedings (1986); student papers by Barbara Jesing and Christena Bush (1980 and 1982 respectively); Handbook of Social Agencies in Nebraska (1940); Grace Abbott booklet by John Sorensen (2010); (2005); and materials related to the Helping Indochinese Families in Transition Conference (1981), including a needs assessment, conference proceedings, Indochinese refugee sponsor list, and audiocassette recordings of conference sessions.

The UNO Department of Gerontology Collection comprises works produced by and resources used by the Gerontology Program at the University of Nebraska at Omaha from about 1975 until about 2010. It includes various research reports, conference proceedings, and programs; "Planning the Third Age" (1976) facilitator's manual, student worksheets, slides, and audio cassettes; "Celebrate: A Collection of Writings By and About Women" (serial, 1997-2010); audio cassette recordings of "The Enduring Spirit: Women as We Age" conference (1995); a sensory deprivation simulation with book, slides, and audio; the "Retirement" board game (1975); and the "Coming of Old Age in Samoa" slides, index, and audio cassette (1979).

The UNO Bachelor of General Studies Degree Records are comprised of files related to the Bachelors of General Studies degree program in the College of Continuing Studies at the University of Nebraska at Omaha, covering the time period from about 1950 until about 2005 (with the bulk of the material from the latter half of that period). Materials include agreements with other area colleges and universities, marketing plans, committee and task force information, correspondence, course information (the bulk of the collection), degree information, policies and procedures, publicity information, surveys, and miscellaneous.

The UNO School of Public Administration Records comprises documents used internally by the school and earlier department at the University of Nebraska at Omaha from circa 1975 until circa 2000. The collection includes departmental self studies (1979, 1984, and 1998), strategic planning (1985), student guide (1983), clear writing guide (1983), personnel training workbook (1981), assorted guides and handbooks (1975-1979), studies (1999-2000), and the proposal for a Ph.D. program in Public Administration (1990).

The UNO Department of Criminal Justice Records comprises reports, proposals, and conference materials from the Department of Criminal Justice era of the academic unit's existence (it is now the School of Criminology and Criminal Justice) at the University of Nebraska at Omaha, from circa 1973-1990. The collection includes Indian Justice (1981 report); Omaha-Douglas County Metropolitan Criminal Justice Center : Base line data collection (1973 reports); the proposal for a Ph.D. in criminal justice (1990); papers presented at the Conference on Key Issues in Criminal Justice Doctoral Education (1975); and conference notebooks and papers from Historical Perspectives on American Criminal Justice: A UNO Conference (1976).

The UNO College of Public Affairs and Community Service Records thus far only includes the newsletters produced for faculty and staff in the College. The first issue, dated June 11, 1973, was titled SPACS Newsletter, reflecting the first year of the organization's existence, before it was upgraded from a School to a College within UNO. More records are available in other collections.

The records of the William Brennan Institute for Labor Studies at the University of Nebraska at Omaha document its training and workshop offerings through course and research materials.

This collection includes organizational records from the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessors, the Municipal University of Omaha and the University of Omaha, dating from the institution's founding in 1908 to the present. Records originated from many colleges, schools, departments, offices, committees, faculty and staff organizations, student organizations, and alumni. Materials include publications, event programs, conference materials, publicity material, meeting minutes, correspondence, budget information, internal reports, policies, architectural drawings, photographs, and miscellaneous records from various UNO and UNO-affiliated groups or relating to UNO people, buildings, events, and academic programs.

The Office of University Communications kept these staff files in case a photo or other information about a member of the UNO staff, faculty, or administration was needed for a press release or internal statement. Covers faculty and staff from the 1960s through the early 21st century.

The UNO Newsletter Collection comprises the official newsletters sent to faculty and staff of the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessor the Municipal University of Omaha, covering the period from 1948 until 2008. The "Faculty Staff Bulletin" included articles about the November 1969 sit-in and university support for the chancellor.

Minutes (2001-present), reports (1997-present), resolutions, and other material are available on the Central Administration's website.

The UNO Poster Collection includes posters, fliers, and banners from the University of Nebraska at Omaha.

The UNO Media Collection includes audiovisual material related to the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessor the University of Omaha, from circa 1950 to the present. Materials include both informal audio and video recordings of UNO events, UNO promotional/recruitment material, and formal radio and television programs produced by UNO Television, University Television, KYNE-TV, KVNO Radio, and other UNO media organizations. A small number of commercial and other non-UNO media items are also included.

The UNO Artifact Collection includes objects related to the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessor the University of Omaha, from circa 1908 to the present. The collection includes a diverse array of OU and UNO branded items, t-shirts, hats, sweaters, blankets, scrapbooks, proclamations, trophies, award plaques, flags, pennants, pins, pens, seat cushions, coffee mugs, toys, ephemera, memorabilia, and other objects.