Welcome to the Research Guide for Native American Studies. This guide will direct you to library resources useful for Native American Studies, including books and articles, as well as information on treaties, newspaper, and more.
If you have any questions or would like personal help doing your research, use the contact information in the "Contact me" box. One-on-one consultations are available for students, faculty, and staff.
This database brings together many thousands of documents housed at the U.S. National Archives and the Chicago History Museum, most previously available only in microfilm collections or in paper files at the holding institution:
"Incorporates collections from Canadian and American institutions, providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century. Encompassing over 1.2 million pages, the database includes manuscript records; book collections; newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations...."
The library's JSTOR account includes access to all fifteen Arts & Sciences Collections and the several topical collections such as Ireland, Life Sciences, Security Studies, and Sustainability. These encompass an archive of over 2,300 journals in classical studies, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, mathematics, music, the history and study of art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, philosophy, political science, sociology, and religion.
Contains over 40,000 pages of correspondence spanning 1833 to 1893 documenting missionaries' the lives and conditions of Native Americans.
Includes full text articles from over 2,400 research journals across social science disciplines. Also includes working papers and doctoral dissertations.
