LibGuides: Native American Studies Research Guide: Treaties & Legal Resources

Library Databases

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis, Nexis Uni provides access to more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including decisions of the Federal courts and the appellate courts of all 50 states. (Also includes Zacks Equity Research.)
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the published decisions of the federal courts and the appellate courts of all 50 states. Also includes federal and state codes and regulations and articles published in over 700 law review journals.

Indigenous Law Portal: Mapping American Indian Constitutions and Legal Materials
Brings together free primary source law documents from the Law Library of Congress and from nearly 340 tribes in Indian country, including tribal codes, charters, constitutions/bylaws, ordinances, and more.
National Indian Law Library - Native American Rights Fund
A law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL maintains a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assists people with their Indian law-related research needs.

Kappler's Indian Affairs and Treaties
The Oklahoma State University Library Electronic Publishing Center has digitized the complete collection of Charles J. Kappler's Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties. This compilation has served as the primary source for texts of treaties between the United States and American Indian nations.
Early Recognized Treaties with American Indian Nations
Text of the nine treaties not included in the Kappler volumes. This collection has the full-text for nine treaties created from 1722 to 1805. Combined with the Kappler collection available at the web site of Oklahoma State University, the researcher has access to all federally recognized treaties between the United States and Indian nations.
Relations between the United States and Native Americans - The Avalon Project from Yale Law School
Full-text links to U.S. Statutes, treaties, court cases, Presidential messages to Congress, and the Constitution of the Iroquois Nation. Provides a complete list of treaties for the following nations: Apache, Arapaho, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Comanche, Creek, Delaware, Kiowa Oneida, Potawatami, Shawnee, Six Nations, and Wyandot.