LibGuides: English Literature Research Guide: Find Articles

Best Bets

Criss Library has many databases in which you can find reviews, literary criticism, and scholarly articles on literature. Some highlights include:

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
the top index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Because it is primarily an index, there are more citations than full text articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
contains a vast archive of full text articles on literature, classics, culture and more, however it only has limited access to the most current content.
Gale: Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
has introductory articles on a variety of authors and works. It is a great place to start your research.

The boxes below contain even more databases to help you find the articles you need for your research. If you aren't finding exactly what you need please ask for help! I am happy to be of assistance.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals in the arts, humanities, history and social sciences
Biography Reference Bank Illustrated This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Bank Illustrated provides in-depth, full-text profiles, with more than 32,000 photographs
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations for articles published in over 2,000 periodicals which address the history of the United States and Canada. The database also indexes books, book reviews, and Ph.D. dissertations.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.
Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
This database offers an online archive of the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, which for many decades has been a major index to articles published in news magazines such as Time, Newsweek, and U.S. News & World Report as well as popular magazines like Good Housekeeping and Reader's Digest.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
This database offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks, and many unique sources that were never previously available, covering all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education--as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Over 60,000 biographical articles spanning the history of the British Isles. The primary and authoritative reference work of its kind. Supports 2-3 simultaneous users.

Literary Criticism

Gale: Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Brings together several Gale literary databases into one search platform including Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online, and Something About the Author.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Children's Literature Review, 2004-current
Contemporary Authors, 2003-current
Contemporary Authors New Revision Series, 2003-current
Something about the Author, 2004-current.
International Directory of Company Histories, 2004-current.
Business Plans Handbook, 2004-2010

Monographs, Short Fiction, and Poetry

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Short Story Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Approximately 200+ monographs are captured per year, with approximately 3,000-4,000 analytics (chapters/stories).
Short Story Index Retrospective: 1915-1983 (H.W. Wilson): This link opens in a new window
Short Story Index Retrospective is a bibliographic index of short stories written in or translated into English that have appeared in collections and selected periodicals.

Historical Newspapers

American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
The American Periodicals Series brings the early days of U.S. history alive through more than 7,000,000 digitized page images from over 1,000 periodicals spanning 200 years. The wide variety of content ranges from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, first published in 1741, to literary and professional journals, specialized titles, and such well-known magazines as Vanity Fair, Ladies' Home Journal, Scientific American, and The Dial.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This resource offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries. The library's account includes all four collections released by ProQuest as of 2019.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
500 U.S. newspapers published during the 1800s, fully scanned and searchable.
19th Century British Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society."
New York Times website for UNO This link opens in a new window
UNO students, faculty, and staff are eligible for a personal account for the online New York Times. Click here to login through your library account to validate your eligibility, and then set up a New York Times account using your unomaha.edu email address as your username.

A UNO account includes access to the TimesMachine, the scanned archive extending back to 1851. Click into the menu at the upper left of the NYT homepage and then click "More" and then "TimesMachine."
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This site allows you to search and view American Historic newspaper pages from 1890-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
The Times digital archive, 1785- This link opens in a new window
contains the Times of London, fully scanned and searchable. Widely regarded as the world's "newspaper of record," The Times has offered readers in-depth, award-winning and objective coverage of global events since 1785, and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication.
TLS historical archive, 1902-2019 This link opens in a new window
This easy-to-navigate, fully-searchable resource is a witness to the cultural revolutions of the last 100 years and offers unparalleled opportunities for tracking the views of influential opinion-makers, the response of their peers, the controversies of the day and how they developed.
History Vault This link opens in a new window
Researchers can access primary source material including letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more. The materials are taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.
Harpweek : 1857-1912 This link opens in a new window
HarpWeek enables you to directly experience the richness and historical significance of Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.