Skip to main content

Organizational Psychology and Leadership Research Guide

Use this guide to find UNO library resources and other helpful research tools.

Databases and Journals

When searching these databases for articles, be sure to filter your results by "scholarly, peer-reviewed" articles in each database.

What is a "scholarly" article?

Often, an assignment will require the use of "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" sources. Most databases provide a function enabling to select only scholarly (or peer reviewed) journals. Look for the following characteristics:

PURPOSE:

  • Communicate the results of research in the field of study covered by the journal.
  • Reflect a systematic and thorough study of a single topic, often involving experiments or surveys.
  • Occasionally publish review articles that summarize the current state of knowledge on a topic.

APPEARANCE:

  • Lack the slick advertising, classified ads, coupons, etc..
  • Articles are often printed one column to a page, as in books.
  • Often graphs, tables, or charts referring to specific points in the articles.

AUTHORITY:

  • Written by the person(s) who did the research being reported. 
  • The first author listed is often the primary researcher who coordinated or supervised the work done by the other authors.
  • Most highly‑regarded scholarly journals are typically those sponsored by professional associations, such as the American Psychological Association or the American Chemical Society.

VALIDITY AND RELIABILITY:

  • Articles are evaluated by an editorial board and other experts (peer review) before they are accepted for publication.
  • Ensure that the articles published are based on solid research that meets the normal standards of the field of study covered by the journal.
  • Professors sometimes refer to peer-reviewed journals as refereed journals.

WRITING STYLE:

  • Contain an advanced vocabulary, since the authors use the technical language or jargon of their field of study.
  • Authors assume that the reader already possesses a basic understanding of the field of study.

REFERENCES

  • Always indicate the sources of their information.
  • References are usually listed at the end of an article, but they may appear in the form of footnotes, endnotes, or a bibliography.

 

Off-Campus Access

When you click to connect to a library database, you may be prompted to log-in to your library account to confirm that you are a UNO student and eligible for access. This is especially true for off-campus computers. If you have not set up a Criss Library account, you may click here to retrieve instructions. Library accounts are NOT automatically set up for all students for privacy issues.

UNL affiliated student, faculty, and staff:  For off-campus access to databases, you will be prompted to enter your last name, NU ID number (from your NCard) and password to verify that you are either a current employee or currently enrolled student at UNL. You will be asked to establish your password the first time you login to your Library account or one of the Library databases. For complete information please go to the E-resources Off campus page.