LibGuides: Music Research Guide: Home

Best Bets

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
(Limit 2-3 concurrent users. Please close browser when done using.) Oxford Music Online (OMO) is the access-point for Oxford music reference subscriptions and products, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Over 35,000 classical music tracks, program notes, and playlists from 32 independent and major classical labels, including EMI Classics, Vox, Hyperion, Vanguard, and Arabesque. Early music to contemporary composer with the main emphasis on the Baroque, Classical and Romantic periods.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
World´s largest online classical music library. .
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The library's JSTOR account includes access to all fifteen Arts & Sciences Collections and the several topical collections such as Ireland, Life Sciences, Security Studies, and Sustainability. These encompass an archive of over 2,300 journals in classical studies, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, mathematics, music, the history and study of art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, philosophy, political science, sociology, and religion.
Daniels' Orchestral Music Online This link opens in a new window
"The unique orchestral music finder tool." Daniels' Orchestral provides a comprehensive index to orchestral music scores, searchable by keywords, composers' names, and publishers. Daniels' Orchestral "is not an agent, distributor or publisher and does not rent, sell, provide quotes or offer perusal scores."
IPA Source This link opens in a new window
IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. The collection encompasses over 12,500 works as of 2020.

Journal of the Audio Engineering Society
The Journal is the only peer-reviewed journal devoted exclusively to audio technology. It contains state-of-the-art review papers, technical papers, and engineering reports; standards committee work, convention and conference announcements, membership news, and book reviews.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
This database offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks, and many unique sources that were never previously available, covering all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education--as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

Create an Interlibrary Loan Account

Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery
With an interlibrary loan (ILL) account, you can ask Criss Library to borrow books and articles from other libraries for you. We'll email the articles directly to you and hold the books for you to check out at the library.

Library Events

Join us for these upcoming events at the library. Click through for more information and to register.