Music Research Guide

The sheet music in this digital collection has been selected from the Sheet Music Collection at the John Hay Library at Brown University.

A catalog of all scores on CPDL.

An online bibliography of music and dance bibliographies and reference sources (both print and online). Select the category "music collection online" for free resources.

Public domain scores available online.

Links to public domain scores online.

Provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.

Includes text readings of songs and arias by native speakers, phonetic transcription (IPA), translations into several languages, video tutorials, podcasts, webinars, diction tips, and diction lessons. Look under the "In Depth" tab for free content.

Download versions and sections of the IPA chart, freely available under a Creative Commons license from the International Phonetic Association.

These audio recordings are the words and text that appear in the illustrations contained in Part 2 of the Handbook and which demonstrate the application of the International Phonetic Alphabet to a wide variety of sound systems of languages of the world.

Helpful resources for those new to phonetics.

Sounds of English and IPA with key words. American and British.

A digital collection of Russian vocal music available for download. Every file comes with IPA, word-for-word translations, score with IPA, and spoken recordings of the text.

The world’s largest reference archive of texts and translations of art songs and choral works. More than 150,000 vocal pieces have been catalogued and nearly 35,000 translations are available.

An archive and directory of free, printable sheet music for singers and voice teachers. An emphasis is placed on standard classical and traditional repertoire. Includes downloadable IPA for German, French, Latin, and Italian songs.

A list of libretti in the library with transcriptions, translations, and IPA.

A collection of information about opera and operatic arias. Includes translations for many arias and aria texts for those that are not affected by copyright restrictions. Includes operatic sound files. Before purchasing additional sound files or scores, please check library databases.