Skip to main content

University Archives

The University Archives documents the history of the University of Nebraska at Omaha from its founding to the present and is part of Criss Library Archives & Special Collections.

Archives & Special Collections Home

Visit Criss Library Archives & Special Collections to learn more about our collections and how to use them. 

A History of the University of Nebraska at Omaha 1908-1983

Cover - A History of the University of Nebraska at Omaha 1908-1983

University Archives Overview

The University Archives in UNO Criss Library Archives & Special Collections is the official repository for materials related to UNO history. The collection includes publications from university offices and departments, course catalogs, yearbooks, budget materials, Board of Regents and Faculty Senate minutes, graduate and undergraduate theses, a significant collection of photographs, personal papers and organizational records, and more all documenting UNO history. Original and on-line copies of the YELLow Sheet and Gateway student newspapers are also available.

History of the Collection

Materials documenting UNO history have always been collected and supervised by library staff members. Over 100 years of UNO history there have been five library areas or structures. The first was a separate room in Joslyn Hall on the original 24th and Pratt Street campus. The second library was a temporary structure between Joslyn Hall and Jacobs Gymnasium. When the university moved to the present campus in 1938 the library was located in room 220 of the current Arts & Sciences Hall. Space concerns prompted the construction of Gene Eppley Library in 1956, now the Eppley Administration Building. Criss Library, the fifth and current home of University Archives, was completed in 1976.

The Gateway

The Gateway Newspaper Archive was launched in 2007 as a UNO Centennial ProjectUNO student newspaper The Gateway offers readers a glimpse into campus life. Articles, photos, advertisements, and specific dates can be searched in issues dating back to 1922 with more recent issues added on a regular schedule after the conclusion of the academic year.

The Gateway

YELLow Sheet

Very early on Monday morning November 9, 1911, someone clandestinely posted two yellow sheets of paper on a bulletin board in Redick Hall, a stately Victorian mansion and the only structure on the University of Omaha (OU) campus. When students and faculty began arriving they discovered that these pages were volume one number one of the YELLow Sheet, the first OU student newspaper and a decidedly underground publication. 

The YELLow Sheet offers readers a wonderful glimpse into the early University of Omaha campus experience. As the first generation of OU students reach out to us in these pages, it does not seem all that long ago that they roamed the halls of Redick mansion.

OU & UNO Yearbooks

The newest digital collection from Criss Library, the University of Nebraska at Omaha's yearbooks, have been digitized and are now available from the Internet Archive and DigitalCommons@UNO.

University of Omaha 1961 Tomahawk yearbook cover

Breakaway. The Omahan. The Gateway. Tomahawk. Maverick. The university's yearbook went by several names beginning as the Gateway then changing names to the Omahan, Tomahawk, and Breakaway before ending as the Maverick from 1973-1975. The first yearbook, the Gateway (1915-1927), shares its name with the university’s longtime student newspaper. The Tomahawk endured as the campus publication's name the longest from 1936 through 1970. In addition to the name changes, users will notice the changing composition of the volumes over the years as materials and styles evolved.

Whatever the yearbook's name or format, users will find each volume keyword searchable or able to be read like a book online. Yearbooks typically include photos and information about students, events, and faculty. In addition to student organizations, athletics, the arts, and other activities, the yearbooks also present opportunities for alumni, current students, and interested researchers to investigate changing fashions, popular culture, advertisements, and events through the lens of the university's students.

This exciting project was made possible through the LYRASIS Digitization Collaborative – a Sloan Foundation grant-subsidized program that has made digitization easy and affordable for libraries and cultural institutions across the country.

Through the Collaborative’s partnership with the Internet Archive, all items were scanned from cover- to-cover and in full color.  You can choose from a variety of formats, page through a book choosing the “read online” option, download the PDF or search the full text version.

Copies of each volume of the yearbook are also available for use in Criss Library Archives & Special Collections.

Reflections in Time Interviews

Reflections in Time is a series of 125 interviews produced from 1979 to 2007 with former OU and UNO staff, faculty, administrators, alumni, and others. Of the 125 interviews in this series, the first 73 programs were produced by UNO Professor of Communication Paul Borge and the final 52 were produced by UNO Dean of Arts & Sciences Jack Newton. 

University of Nebraska Records

More Material

Search Tools

Three UNO students standing at tables searching in the library's card catalog drawers

UNO students searching the library's card catalog. All of our search tools are now online!

Credit: UNO Photograph Collection, Archives & Special Collections, Dr. C.C. and Mabel L. Criss Library, University of Nebraska at Omaha.

Contact me

Les Valentine
Contact:
402-554-2362

Follow Us

Archives & Special Collections posts on Criss Library's social media channels.

Like us on Facebook.

Follow us on Twitter.

Criss Library Facebook PageCriss Library Twitter

UNO Photograph Collection

People bowling at UNO's former bowling alley in the Milo Bail Student Center

UNO's former bowling alley in the Milo Bail Student Center. The bowling alley was lost to growing space demands in the 1970s.

Credit: UNO Photograph Collection, Archives & Special Collections, Dr. C.C. and Mabel L. Criss LibraryUniversity of Nebraska at Omaha.