Microfilm is basically 35mm or 16 mm camera film, but optimized for its particular purpose. For many decades it was the standard medium for storing large archives of textual matter, and libraries used microfilm to manage space-consuming backfiles of newspapers, research journals, and magazines.
The call numbers below refer to both the microfilm (shelved along the far west wall on 1st Floor) and to the pertinent indexes (shelved on a bookcase near microfilm readers/scanners).
Witchcraft in early New England. 41 reels. Research Publications, 1988. BF1569 .W88 1988
FBI file on Elijah Muhammad. 3 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1996. BP223 .Z8 E454
The Henry Jackson Van Dyke papers. 13 reels. University Microfilms, 1999. BX9225 .V3 A3
Thomas Lake Harris and the Brotherhood of the New Life: Pamphlets, Serials, and Manuscripts, 1854-1942. 14 reels. Microfilming Corporation of America, 1974. BX9998 .H3 T4
Archives of the Works Progress Administration and Predecessors, 1933-1943. 6 reels. Harvester Press Microform Publications, 1987. CD3041 .W67 U549
Reparation papers of the Allied Powers Reparation Commission. 6 reels. University Publications of America, 1975. D649 .G3 A45
The MAGIC documents: summaries and transcripts of the top secret diplomatic communications of Japan, 1938-1945. 14 reels. University Publications of America, 1980. D649 .G3 A45
Postwar Europe. [O.S.S./State Department intelligence and research reports] 10 reels. University Publications of America, 1977. D1050 .O114
Europe, 1946-1976. [CIA research reports.] 4 reels. University Publications of America, 1982. D1051 .E44
Germany and its occupied territories during World War II. [O.S.S./State Department intelligence and research reports.] 22 reels. University Publications of America, 1977. DD256 .O114
Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records: Russia and the Soviet Union ; part 1, Russia: from Czar to commissars, 1914-1918. 10 reels. University Publications of America, 1982. DK266 .A3 C66
The Soviet Union. [O.S.S./State Department intelligence and research reports.] 8 reels. University Publications of America, 1977. DK267 .S68 1982
The Soviet Union, 1946-1976. [CIA research reports.] 5 reels. University Publications of America, 1982. DK274 .S68 1982
The Middle East, 1946-1976. [CIA research reports.] 3 reels. University Publications of America, 1982. DS63 .M584 1982
The Middle East. [O.S.S./State Department intelligence and research reports.] 3 reels. University Publications of America, 1977. DS63 .O114
Japan, Korea, and the security of Asia, 1946-1976. [CIA research reports.] 5 reels. University Publications of America, 1982. DS518.1 .J86 1982
Vietnam and Southeast Asia, 1946-1976. [CIA research reports.] 7 reels. University Publications of America, 1982. DS557.4 .V53 1982
Vietnam and Southeast Asia. Supplement. [CIA research reports.] 6 reels. University Publications of America, 1986. DS557.4 .V53 1986.
China, 1946-1976. [CIA research reports.] 6 reels. University Publications of America, 1982. DS777.55 .C4465 1982
The exploration and colonization of Africa (1794-1844) : papers from the Colonial Office collection. 14 reels. M. Glazier, 1979. DT3 .G798
Africa, 1941-1961. [O.S.S. / State Department intelligence and research reports.] 11 reels. University Publications of America, 1980. DT29 .A37
Africa : Special Studies, 1962-1980. 7 reels. University Publications of America, 1981. DT29 .A371
Africa, 1946-1976. [CIA research reports.] 3 reels. University Publications of America, 1981. DT29 .C22 1982
Contemporary newspapers of the North American Indian. 18 reels. Bell & Howell, 1974. E75 .C651
The Native Americans reference collection : documents collected by the Office of Indian Affairs. 76 reels. University Publications of America, 1991. E75 .N37
The Pacific Northwest tribes missions collection of the Oregon Province Archives of the Society of Jesus. 34 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1987. E78 .N78 J58
The FBI files on the American Indian Movement and Wounded Knee. 26 reels. University Publications of America, 1986. E93 .F42 1986
The papers of Carlos Montezuma, M.D. : including the papers of Maria Keller Montezuma Moore and the papers of Joseph W. Latimer. 9 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1983. E93 .M66 1983
The papers of the Society of American Indians. 10 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1986. E93 .S62
American Indian correspondence: the Presbyterian Historical Society collection of missionaries' letters, 1833-1893. 10 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1996. E98 .M6 A43
FBI file on the Organization of Afro-American Unity. 1 reel. Scholarly Resources, 1996. E185.5 .F352 1996
FBI file on the National Association of Colored People (N.A.A.C.P.). 4 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1990. E185.5 .N276 G83
Congress of Racial Equality papers. 80 reels. University Publications of America, 1983. E185.61 .C7625 1983
Congress of Racial Equality papers : addendum, 1944-1968. 25 reels. Microfilming Corporation of America, 1981. E185.61 .C7626 1981
FBI file on the National Negro Congress. 2 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1987. E185.61 .F34 1987
FBI file on the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee. 2 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1991. E185.61 .F355 1991
Papers of the NAACP. pt. 1. 1909-1950 : Meetings of the Board of Directors, records of annual conferences, major speeches, and special reports (28 reels) -- pt. 2. 1919-1939 : Personal correspondence of selected NAACP officials (20 reels). University Publications of America, 1981. E185.61 .N276
Papers of the NAACP. Supplement to part 1. [1] 1951-1955 (12 reels) -- [2] 1956-1960 (12 reels) -- [3] 1961-1965 (9 reels) -- [4] 1966-1970 (12 reels). University Publications of America, 1987-1995. E185.61 .N276 PT.1 SUPPL.
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee papers, 1959-1972. 73 reels. Microfilming Corporation of America, 1982. E185.61 .S919 1981.
FBI file on the Black Panther Party, North Carolina. 2 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1986. E185.615 .F332 1986
Blacks in the United States Armed Forces : basic documents. 5 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1994. E185.63 .B55 1994
African-American organizations : Universal Negro Improvement Association, records of the Central Division, New York, 1918-1959, Negro Labor Committee record group, 1925-1969, National Association of Colored Graduate Nurses records, 1908-1951, Blacks in the railroad industry, 1946-1954. 17 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1995. E185.86 .G73751 1995
Universal Negro Improvement Association Records, 1921-1986. 16 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1994. E185.86 .U48 A12 1994
Mary McLeod Bethune papers: the Bethune Foundation collection. Pt. 1. Writings, diaries, scrapbooks, biographical materials, and files on the National Youth Administration and women's organizations, 1918-1955. 19 reels. University Publications of America, 1996. E185.97 .B34 A22
Correspondence of Daniel Ellis Byrd. 6 reels. Scholarly Resources, 2000. E185.97 .B94 A3 2000
The papers of W.E.B. DuBois, 1877-1963. 89 reels. Microfilming Corporation of America, 1980. E185.97 .D73 F35 1996
FBI File on W.E.B. Dubois. 1 reel. Scholarly Resources, 1996. E185.97 .D73 F35 1996
FBI File on Malcolm X. 10 reels. Scholarly Resources 1995. E185.97 L5 F23 1995a
FBI File on A. Philip Randolph. 1 reel. Scholarly Resources, 1990. E185.97 .R27 F352 1990
FBI File on Roy Wilkins. 1 reel. Scholarly Resources, 1990. E185.97 .W69 F251 1990
FBI File: MIBURN (Mississippi Burning): the investigation of the murders of Michael Henry Schwerner, Andrew Goodman, and James Earl Chaney, June 21, 1964. 1 reel. Scholarly Resources, 1990. E185.98 .S351 F521 1990
Published American colonial records: Connecticut (9 reels), Delaware (4 reels), Georgia (13 reels), Maine (9 reels), Maryland (2 reels), Massachusetts (23 reels), New Hampshire (16 reels), New Jersey (8 reels), New York (17 reels), North Carolina (15 reels), Pennsylvania (17 reels), Rhode Island (4 reels), South Carolina (7 reels), Vermont (3 reels), Virginia (19 reels). Research Publications, 1970-1979. E187 .A5
Benjamin Franklin's account books. 3 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1977. E302 .F825
FBI File on Paul Robeson. 2 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1987. E743.5 .F34 1987.
The papers of Eleanor Roosevelt, 1933-1945. 20 reels. University Publications of America, 1986. E807.1 .R46 A25 1986
FBI File on Adam Clayton Powell, Jr. 8 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1995. E840.8 .P68 G853 1995
Papers of the Saint Louis fur trade. 63 reels. Pt. 1. The Chouteau collection, 1752-1925; Pt. 2. fur company ledgers and account books, 1802-1871. University Publications of America, 1991. F474 .S253 A26 1991
Omaha City Directory, 1866-1963. 38 reels. R.L. Polk Company, F674 .O5 A18. [Printed volumes for 1964 onward shelved on 3rd floor; current year at 1st Floor Service Desk].
Latin America, 1946-1976. [CIA research reports.] 5 reels. University Publications of America, 1982. F1414 .L46 1982
Records of ante-bellum Southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War: Series A, selections from the South Caroliniana Library, University of South Carolina. 26 reels. Pt. 1. The papers of James Henry Hammond, 1795-1865; Pt. 2. Miscellaneous collections. University Publications of America, 1985. HD1471 .U5 R43 SER.A
Records of ante-bellum Southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War: Series B, selections from the South Carolina Historical Society. 10 reels. University Publications of America, 1985. HD1471 .U5 R44 SER.B
Records of ante-bellum Southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War: Series C, selections from the holdings of the Library of Congress. 5 reels (Alabama, Georgia, and South Carolina) University Publications of America, 1985. HD1471 .U5 R45 SER.C
Records of ante-bellum Southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War: Series D, selections from the Maryland Historical Society. 14 reels. University Publications of America, 1985. HD1471 .U5 R46 SER.D
Selected documents from records of the Comittee on Fair Employment Practice, 1941-1946: Record Group 228 of the National Archives. 213 reels. Microfilming Corporation of America, 1970. HD4903.5 .U58 S42 1970
The strike files of the U.S. Department of Justice: Pt. 1, 1894-1920. 20 reels. University Publications of America, 1990. HD5324 .S77 1990
Records of the Bureau of Vocational Information, 1908-1932. 28 reels. University Publications of America, 1989. HD6059.6 .U6 B87 1989
Records of the Women's Bureau of the Department of Labor, 1918-1965: Pt. 1, reports of the Director, annual summaries, major conferences, speeches, and articles. 23 reels. University Publications of America, 1986. HD6093 .R43 1986
FBI File on Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers. 2 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1995. HD6509 .C47 F352 1995
Oil, the Federal investigations. 9 reels. University Publications of America, 1975. HD9566 .O39
Great Northern Railway Company papers: Pt. 1, 1862-1922. 25 reels. University Publications of America, 1984. HE2791 .G74 G7
U.S. military intelligence reports: surveillance of radicals in the United States, 1917-1941. 34 reels. University Publications of America, 1984. HN90 .R3 U5 1984
Herstory: publications from the International Women's History Periodical Archive. 90 reels. Women's History Research Center, 1974. HQ1101 .H42
History of women: comprehensive microfilm collection made from the archives of the Sophia Smith Collection, the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe, and others (including the Miriam Y. Holden private collection on medieval and Western European women). 1248 reels. Research Publications, 1983. HQ1111 .H673 This collection includes over 140 magazines.
Women and/in health. 13 reels. Women's History Research Center, 1974. HQ1111 .W62
Women and law. 40 reels. Women's History Research Center, 1976. HQ1111 .W64
The Slave trade, 1858-1892: British Foreign Office. 10 reels. M. Glazier, 1977. HT1161 .G786
The official and confidential file of FBI Directory J. Edgar Hoover. 6 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1988. HV7911 .H6 O44 1988
Letters received by the Attorney General, 1809-1870: western law and order. 11 reels. University Publications of America, 1996. HV8144 .M37 L651
The Cleveland Workhouse and House of Refuge and Correction. 24 reels. Scholarly Resources, 2000. HV8749 .O5 C54 2000
Hopedale Community collection, 1821-1938. 6 reels. Microfilming Corporation of America, 1976. HX656 .H7 H7
Oneida Community: books, pamphlets, and serials. 15 reels. Microfilming Corporation of America, 1973. HX656 .O5 O5
The Emma Goldman Papers. 69 reels. Chadwyck-Healey, 1995. HX843.7 .G65 E43 1995
American Civil Liberties Union archives: the Roger Baldwin years, 1917-1950. 293 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1996. JC599 .U5 A479 1996
Socialist Party of America papers, 1897-1963. 142 reels. Microfilming Corporation of America, 1975. JK2391 .S6 A5
Socialist Party of America papers, 1919-1976: addendum. 38 reels. Microfilming Corporation of America, 1977. JK2391 .S6 A5 Suppl.
Select reports of the American Commission to Negotiate the Peace: Paris Peace Conference, 1919-1920. 8 reels. University Publications of America, 1975. JX1908 .U5 A5
Women's International League for Peace and Freedom papers, 1915-1978. 114 reels. Microfilming Corporaton of America, 1983. JX1965 .W4594 1983
Publications of the Permanent Court of International Justice, 1922-1945. 36 reels. Research Publications, 1975. JX1971 .A6
League of Nations documents and publications, 1919-1946. 549 reels. Research Publications, 1971. JX1975 .A1
Records of the Wickersham Commission on Law Observance and Enforcement: Pt. 1, records of the Committee on Official Lawlessness; Pt. 2, research reports and general subjest files. 26 reels. University Publications of America, 1996. KF9223 .A73 R4 1996
Charlotte Eugenia (Hawkins) Brown, 1883-1961: papers, 1900-1961. 4 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1999. LA2317 .B7 A4 1999
Howard A. Kester papers, 1923-1972. 14 reels. Microfilming Corporation of America, 1973. LB885 .K43 1973
The General Education Board Archives. 360 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1994. 360 reels. Scholarly Resources, 1994. LC243 .G3 A3