Skip to main content

History Research Guide

Use this guide to find UNO library resources and other helpful research tools.

Library Accounts You'll Need

To make the most of your research, you'll need to set up two accounts with UNO Libraries. Your Library Account will allow you access to electronic resources even when you're off campus. Your Inter-Library Loan (ILL) Account will allow you to have research materials delivered to you from libraries throughout the world.

What brings you here?

I need to figure out a topic or understand my research topic better

Start with dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference resources. Before trying to understand scholarly and peer-reviewed books and articles, get a firm grasp of your topic with definitions, topic overviews, and information.

I need to find scholarly articles about my topic

Start with our recommended databases. Whether you're looking for peer-reviewed or just credible scholarly sources, most library databases allow you to limit your search results to just these kinds of articles. Take a look at some of these databases to get started.

I'm looking for books about my topic

Find books in the catalog. Books are vital to historical research. We have thousands of books in the UNO Libraries on historical topics, and we also have access to much more worldwide. If UNO Libraries does not have a book you need, use our ILL service to have it delivered.

I'm looking for primary sources

Explore our primary source databases. Primary sources are original materials that document historical events and experiences. Through UNO Libraries you have access to millions of primary source materials, many that are accessible online.

I need help with citations

Use these tools for citing sources and managing your research. We have several resources and tools to help with organizing and citing sources. For organizing your material and managing citations, I recommend Zotero.

I'm not sure where to start

You can schedule an appointment with me to get started on your research.

Search Criss Library and beyond

Advanced SearchPowered by 

Getting What You Need

The UNO Libraries catalog searches books, journals, videos, images, government documents, manuscripts, digital resources, etc., as well as full text of archival finding aids. The library's collection of ebooks now tops over 700,000. Visit here to find instructions for viewing and downloading ebooks. Browsing our physical book collection is also an excellent way to find more material, because the call number system is also a subject system.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) can also obtain material not held by UNO, generally within 1 week to ten days. This includes books, DVDs, microfilm, and other formats. ILL may also obtain scans of periodical articles and book chapters not available at UNO.

What can UNO Libraries do for you?

Subject Guide

Jason Heppler's picture
Jason Heppler
Contact:
he/him

Criss Library
6001 Dodge Street
Omaha, NE 68182
402-554-5879
Website