LibGuides: JOUR3270 Public Affairs Reporting Research Guide: City Government Beat

Resources for City Government

City of Omaha
Omaha was founded in 1854 and is the largest city in the state of Nebraska. Omaha is the nation’s 42nd largest city with a population of 427,872. The City of Omaha operates under a Mayor-Council form of government. The mayor and the seven City Council members are elected to four year terms. Omaha has a strong and vibrant business community and the city is home to five Fortune 500 companies. In 2008, Kiplinger’s Personal Finance magazine named Omaha the nation’s third best city to live, work and play.
City of Omaha: City Departments
City of Council Bluffs
Today, Council Bluffs' businesses make a national and international impact. Local industry includes frozen foods, robotics, dairy products, plastics, railroading, electrical products, and pork and beef packaging, among many other industries. Recent changes in state law allowed gambling expansion, boosting the local economy and providing hundreds of new jobs.
City of Bellevue
Here, in the heart of the Great Plains, our City sits on rolling hills overlooking the Missouri River. Its tree-lined streets provide a park-like atmosphere. Our citizens enjoy a lifestyle that blends the latest in entertainment and leisure activities with an old time atmosphere of friendliness and welcome. Our economy is growing and encompasses both small businesses and large corporations. We have a strong technology infrastructure that supports growth and opportunity.
City of LaVista
La Vista is currently one of the fastest growing cities in the State of Nebraska. It is a relatively young and progressive city situated southwest of the Omaha metropolitan area contiguous to the cities of Bellevue, Ralston, Papillion and Omaha.
City of Gretna
Gretna was founded in 1886 on 80 acres of land that was purchased from the Lincoln Land Company for $560 along the new Burlington Northern Railroad line. This new rail line essential moved the town of Forrest City to what is now Gretna. Incorporated on July 10th, 1889 Gretna’s name is inspired by Scotland’s Gretna Green, many of the early settlers of the village came from Scottish backgrounds/ancestry.
City of Papillion
Welcome to the City of Papillion. Recently, our city was voted one of the top 10 Best Places to Live in a review of American towns conducted by MONEY Magazine and CNN.com.
City of Blair
Blair is a city located in eastern Nebraska on the Missouri River, just north of the metropolitan area Omaha. Blair stands on the cross roads of US Highway 30, US Highway 75 and Nebraska Highway 91. Interstate 29 is fifteen minutes east, while Interstate 80 is only twenty-five minutes from our front door.

City Government Databases

Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides broad coverage of most academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, and in the scholarly and general periodical literature. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 9,000 of those titles.
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.