Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Columbia Guide to the Holocaust by
Publication Date: 2000-09-05
Offering a multidimensional approach to one of the most important episodes of the 20th century, The Columbia Guide to the Holocaust offers readers and researchers a general history of the Holocaust while delving into the core issues and debates in the study of the Holocaust today.
History of the Holocaust by
Publication Date: 1995-07-01
This two-part volume combines an accessible overview of contemporary Jewish history with a unique dictionary of Holocaust terms. In addition to assessing the Holocaust specifically, Part 1 of the book discusses the history of European Jewry, anti-Semitism, the rise and fall of Nazism and fascism, World War II, and the postwar implications of the Holocaust. The authors also consider key historiographical and methodological issues related to the Holocaust.Part Two provides a complete dictionary of terms relating to the Holocaust culled from dozens of primary and secondary sources in a range of languages. Included here is a comprehensive set of tables on Aktionen, Aliya Bet, anti-Jewish legislation, anti-semitic organizations, collaboration, concentration camps, Fascism, the Third Reich, the Nazi Party, Jewish and non-sectarian organizations, publications, Judenr te, and resistance movements. Each table is prefaced by a descriptive overview of pertinent issues.Graphs, photographs, and documents supplement the text, and an extensive bibliography as well as separate person, place, and subject indexes make this unique work invaluable as a reference tool.
Holocaust Literature by
Publication Date: 1993-06-21
Over the past forty years, the term Holocaust has come to represent the deliberate campaign of extermination of Jews by the Nazis of Germany's Third Reich preceding and during World War II. Masses of edited documents and analytical material have been generated by Holocaust scholars, and some bibliographical and encyclopedic guides to the field are available. However, a student or researcher may be confounded by the abundance of publications and may lack the necessary background and endurance to sift the wheat from the chaff. The present volume has a two-fold purpose: to offer substantial analysis in intrinsic areas of study and to assess the relevant literature in each case. Major scholars and brilliant, less established historians from Israel, Canada, and the United States have contributed more than thirty essays complete with extensive reference lists in three broad divisions. The section on conceptual approaches to the Holocaust is composed of such topics as the rise of national socialism, biographies and interpretations of Hitler, concentration camps, post-Holocaust Jewish philosophies, and the righteous gentiles. Area studies deal with aspects of the Holocaust in Poland, Hungary, Czechoslovakia, Ukraine, the Balkans, France, Holland, Italy, and Spain, and with effects and reactions in Switzerland and Britain. Arab-German collaboration and American responses are also addressed. A third section takes up Holocaust subjects in education, belles lettres, and the arts, including diaries and memoirs, fiction, poetry, books for children, art, music, and films. Although the scholars all provide evaluative surveys of their subjects and related literature, each enjoyed considerable latitude in coverage and each presents his or her own views and selections, not all of which are shared by other contributors or the volume editor. The editor also provides an introduction and a final survey of major institutions and resources for Holocaust study. A significant reference tool, this volume will be consulted by researchers at all levels in university, public, secondary, and parochial school libraries and at religious institutions.
Learning about the Holocaust
Publication Date: 2000-12-21
Macmillan's 1991 Dartmouth Medal-winning Encyclopedia of the Holocaust set the standard for general reference encyclopedias about the Holocaust. Learning About the Holocaust presents this material at a level appropriate for high school, where the Holocaust is now a part of virtually every history curriculum. Nearly 300 articles from 300 to 2,500 words in length have been rewritten at 9th and 10th grade reading levels, and many new features have been added to enhance the text, including diary entries and stories about young people who lived during the Holocaust. Related source lists include books, magazines, movies and Web sites.
New Perspectives on the Holocaust by
Publication Date: 1996-09-01
The Holocaust stands as a focal event in modern Western history. With a vast array of literature, film, and historical work dedicated to the subject, it is increasingly difficult for educators to sift through the materials available and incorporate them into their curricula. New Perspectives on the Holocaust offers guidance to those in the teaching professions confronting issues raised by the Holocaust. Authors, all actively involved in teaching about the Holocaust, reflect on a range of fundamental questions. Some offer guidance in selecting materials; others examine factors that determine the success or failure of Holocaust curricula; and still others essays examine questions of how much we can know about the Holocaust, investigating specifically the phenomenon of Holocaust denial. Providing a wealth of guidance for engaging students in a wide range of disciplines, from literature to history to geography to Jewish and Christian theology, and including contributions by such well-known scholars as Steven Katz, William Seidelman, Richard Breitman, John Pawlikowski, and Carole Fink, this volume is essential reading for all those in the teaching professions who grapple with the Holocaust.
The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945, Volume I by
Publication Date: 2009-05-22
This monumental 7-volume encyclopedia, the result of years of work by the Jack, Joseph, and Morton Mandel Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, will describe the universe of camps and ghettos--some 20,000 in all--that the Nazis and their allies operated, from Norway to North Africa and from France to Russia. For the first time, a single reference work will provide detailed information on each individual site. This first volume covers three groups of camps: the early camps that the Nazis established in the first year of Hitler's rule, the major SS concentration camps with their constellations of subcamps, and the special camps for Polish and German children and adolescents. Overview essays provide context for each category, while each camp entry provides basic information about the site's purpose; the prisoners, guards, working and living conditions; and key events in the camp's history. Material from personal testimonies helps convey the character of the site, while source citations provide a path to additional information.
The Holocaust Encyclopedia by
Publication Date: 2001-03-29
The Holocaust has been the subject of countless books, works of art, and memorials. Fifty-five years after the fact the world still ponders the enormity of this disaster. The Holocaust Encyclopedia is the only comprehensive single-volume work of reference providing both a reflective overview of the subject and abundant detail concerning major events, policy decisions, cities, and individuals. Up-to-date and designed for easy access, the encyclopedia presents information on the major aspects of the Holocaust in essays by scholars from eleven countries who draw on a number of sources--including recently uncovered evidence from the former Soviet bloc--to provide in-depth studies on the political, social, religious, and moral issues of the Holocaust as well as short entries identifying events, sites, and individuals. The book also has more than 250 photographs, many of them rare, and 19 maps. The volume includes: * Raul Hilberg on concentration camps and Gypsies * Ruth Bondy, Israel Gutman, and Dina Porat on major ghettoes * Roger Greenspun on the Holocaust in cinema and television * Richard Breitman on American policy * Michael Berenbaum on theological and philosophical responses * Saul Friedländer on Nazi policy * Michael Hagemeister on the Protocols of the Elders of Zion * Michael R. Marrus on historiography * Christopher R. Browning on the Madagascar Plan * Robert S. Wistrich on Holocaust denial * James E. Young on Holocaust literature
The Yad Vashem Encyclopedia of the Ghettos During the Holocaust by
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
A two-volume set. Seventy years after the outbreak of World War II, most of the European ghettos have still not been systematically researched. This pioneering two-volume encyclopedia gathers data from historical studies, testimonies, and documents dealing with more than 1,100 ghettos throughout Eastern Europe. This encyclopedia offers detailed entries on the various ghettos into which the Jews of Eastern Europe were confined during the Holocaust. Entries on each ghetto are written by scholars and specialists on their topic and include location, wartime name, and geographical coordinates, and, for the larger ghettos, information on life before World War II and during the Soviet occupation era, German (Nazi) occupation, ghetto structure, institutional life and leadership, terror and killing operations, underground resistance, and the number of survivors at liberation. They also describe the differences between each ghetto and examine the difficulties of daily life in the ghetto, coping strategies, and different forms of resistance. The first reference book of its kind, The Yad Vashem Encyclopedia of the Ghettos during the Holocaust is a valuable resource for diverse disciplines and is supplemented by a special DVD of wartime footage of ghettos filmed in real time during the Holocaust.
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust by
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
The teaching of the history of the Holocaust is mandatory in many states in the U.S. as part of the secondary school curriculum. Encyclopedia of the Holocaust is a comprehensive
The Routledge Atlas of the Holocaust by
Publication Date: 2009-01-29
The graphic history of the Nazi attempt to destroy the Jews of Europe during the Second World War is illustrated in this series of 333 detailed maps. The maps, and the text and photographs that accompany them, powerfully depict the fate of the Jews between 1933 and 1945, while also setting the chronological story in the wider context of the war itself. The maps include: historical background - from the effects of anti-Jewish violence between 1880 and 1933 to the geography of the existing Jewish communities before the advent of the Nazis the beginning of the violence - from the destruction of the synagogues in November 1938 to Jewish migrations and deportations, the ghettos, and the establishment of the concentration camps and death camps throughout German-dominated Europe the spread of Nazi rule - the fate of the Jews throughout Europe including Germany, Austria, Poland, Greece, Yugoslavia, Bulgaria, Russia, Denmark, Norway, France, Holland, Belgium, Italy, and the Baltic States Jewish revolts and resistance - acts of armed resistance, fighting in the forests, individual acts of courage Jews in hiding - escape routes, Christians who helped Jews the death marches - the advance of the Allies and the liberation of the camps, the survivors, and the final death toll. This revised edition includes a new section which gives an insight into the layout and organization of some of the most significant places of the Holocaust, including Auschwitz, Treblinka and the Warsaw ghetto, maps that will be especially useful to those visiting the sites.
Historical Atlas of the Holocaust by
Publication Date: 1995-11-01
Crafted over the course of four years by the research and production staff of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, the Historical Atlas of the Holocaust provides a unique depiction of Europe between 1933 and 1950. Compiled from archives around the world, the Atlas is based on extensive research into primary sources -- such as period maps captured from the German army, survivor testimony, and aerial photographs taken by American, British, and German forces -- illustrating the Nazi camp system that pervaded Europe. The Museum's researchers have prepared detailed plans and explanatory text for more than 25 Nazi concentration, transit, forced-labor, and extermination camps. In addition to maps of major cities and ghettos, the Atlas charts the destruction of synagogues during Kristallnacht; the movement of Nazi killing squads across eastern Europe; the routes of deportations and forced marches; and the location of Nazi pseudo-scientific experimental facilities. While the main focus is on the Holocaust of Eastern Jewry, the Atlas includes maps and text which document the Nazi persecution and murder of other groups, including the handicapped, Roma (gypsies), homosexuals, Poles, political opponents, and Jehovah's Witnesses.
The Penguin Historical Atlas of the Third Reich by
Publication Date: 1997-07-01
Formally inaugurated in Potsdam in 1933, the Third Reich was regarded by Hitler as the greatest in a line of mighty German empires. His mystical belief that this empire would last a 1000 years proved unfounded, but not before a world war which resulted in the loss of at least 60 million lives.
The Warsaw Ghetto by
Publication Date: 2009-08-25
The establishment and liquidation of the Warsaw Ghetto has become an icon of the Holocaust experience. Remarkably, a full history of the Ghetto has never been written, despite the publication over some sixty years of numerous memoirs, studies, biographical accounts, and primary documents. The Warsaw Ghetto: A Guide to the Perished City is this history, researched and written with painstaking care and devotion over many years and now published for the first time in English. The authors explore the history of the ghetto’s evolution, the actual daily experience of its thousands of inhabitants from its creation in 1940 to its liquidation following the uprising of 1943. Encyclopedic in scope, the book encompasses a range of topics from food supplies to education, religious activities to the Jundenrat’s administration. Separate chapters deal with the mass deportations to Treblinka and the famous uprising. A series of original maps, along with biographies, a glossary, and a bibliography, completes this masterful work.
Biographies and Memoirs
Holocaust Survivors by
Publication Date: 2007-05-30
Although there are more and more Holocaust memoirs on the market, this essential collection is the first to present such a large number of biographical profiles of survivors for a broad readership. Holocaust Survivors: A Biographical Dictionary comprises 278 entries on more than 500 survivors of the World War II genocide. The profiles, averaging 500 words, are mostly of Jews, both individuals and family members, from throughout Europe. Organized alphabetically, the essays cover their background, circumstances and ordeals during the war, aftermath, and life achievements, including family and career. Most are on ordinary people who have extraordinary life stories. Many stories come from interviews with the survivors by the author. Excerpts from primary documents and quotations are occasionally interspersed. Suggested reading or references per entry are included where possible. Added value comes from an historical introduction, chronology, resource guide, lists of entries, photos, and comprehensive index. The set will be most valuable to high school students and general readers who do not want to read a full-length memoir. There is an intense and continuing demand for these stories. At the high school level, the set will supplement units on genocide and provides valuable distillation for research and reports to meet the World History Standard concerning the Nazi regime and the Holocaust. Some Holocaust survivors speak about their experiences at schools and public forums, and organizations representing such speakers are listed per state. At the college level, the profiles can be used for starting research in Holocaust history courses. The general reader will become familiar with a range of survivor stories and also use this a springboard for further reading. Examples of people profiled: Marie Blum-Albert_Belgian Jew who smuggled hundreds of Jewish children to safety through a hospital for tubercular children and kept many from being transported to Auschwitz. Abraham A. Foxman spent his pre-school years in Lithuania as a hidden child cared for by his Polish nanny who had him baptized as a Catholic and who taught him to hate Jews. Reilli Herchmer_Sinti fugitive who as a young girl delivered messages for the Nazi resistance underground, survived the Ravensbruck camp, and later moved to Denver with her American husband and raised a family. Victor Klemperer_Dresden professor who survived the war and the Allied fire bombing of the city because he was married to a gentile. He kept a secret, meticulous diary, published to acclaim in the 1990s, of their day-to-day existence as conditions deteriorated as the war progressed. Sam Nussbaum_Jewish-Polish plumber whose skills and strength allowed him to survive a Nazi labor camp. Halina Wind Preston was sent to prison after her Polish landlady exposed her for trying to live outside the ghetto and pass as a Christian, escaped from prison, and spent the rest of the war hiding in the sewers of Lvov.
Jewish Responses to Persecution, 1933-1938 by
Publication Date: 2010-01-16
Jewish Responses to Persecution, 1933-1946 offers a new perspective on Holocaust history by presenting documentation that describes the manifestations and meanings of Nazi Germany's "Final Solution" from the Jewish perspective. This first volume, taking us from Hitler's rise to power through the aftermath of Kristallnacht, vividly reveals the increasing devastation and confusion wrought in Jewish communities in and beyond Germany at the time. Numerous period photos, documents, and annotations make this unique series an invaluable research and teaching tool.
Holocaust Memoir Digest by
Publication Date: 2004-04-01
The Holocaust Memoir Digest consists of detailed summaries of the published memoirs of Holocaust survivors. For some survivors, the need to write and record their eyewitness accounts began as soon as the war ended; for others, it is their advancing years that have created the impetus to publish their personal testimonies. Their memoirs have become a body of knowledge, which the Holocaust Memoir Digest presents in a standardized format. The Digest uses quotations from each memoir to convey the experiences, personality and perspectives of the author in a concise and comprehensive manner.
The literature on the European Holocaust is vast. For much more on the Holocaust, try some of the browsing strategies suggested above.
Anti-Semitism and the Holocaust by
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
This title provides a detailed account of the issues and events which led to the Holocaust, and discusses the historiographical interpretations surrounding that event. The book examines anti-Semitism in Europe before 1933, the nature of Hitler's rule in Germany and Nazi anti-Semitic policy from 1939 to 1941, as well as Nazi euthanasia policies during the same period. The volume concludes by exploring the horrendous developments from 1941 onwards and attempts to reach a balanced conclusion by determining who was responsible for the ultimate "Final Solution."
The Holocaust by
Publication Date: 1999-06-24
An engaging range of period texts and theme books for AS and A Level history. The mass murder of European Jews by the Nazis, stands out as one of the most horrific events of the twentieth century. Peter Neville surveys the history of anti-Semitism in Europe and examines the influence of anti-Semitic ideas on the Nazi Party. The author explores the tensions between the extermination programme and the German war economy; the development of the Jewish resistance; and the response of the Allies to the Holocaust. The final chapters consider of the Holocaust denial and assess the legacy of the Holocaust to the modern world. The Holocaust contains a selection of primary and secondary sources.
The Holocaust by
Publication Date: 1998-03-25
Designed for secondary school and college student research, this work is a readable history and ready-reference guide to the Holocaust based on the most recent scholarship. It provides the reader with an overview of Nazi Germany's attempt to exterminate world Jewry. Fischel, a leading authority on the Holocaust, combines narrative description, analytical essays, a timeline of events, lengthy biographical profiles, and the text of key primary documents relating to the Nazi plan for the Final Solution to help students gain a comprehensive understanding of the causative factors and major events and personalities that shaped the Nazi genocide. A glossary of key terms, selected tables, and an annotated bibliography of recommended further reading will aid student research. Topical essays designed for the student and general reader provide an accessible historical overview and analysis of Hitler and the Jews, the racial state, genocide, the Final Solution, and resistance to the Nazis. Fischel explains the factors that led to the Holocaust, the implementation of the decision to exterminate the Jews, the response of the free world and the Papacy, the role of righteous gentiles who risked their lives to save Jews, and the resistance of the Jews to their fate under the Nazis. Biographical sketches provide valuable information on the key personalities among both the Nazis and Allies, and the text of key primary documents brings the Nazis blatant plan for genocide to stark reality. In providing valuable information, analysis, and ready-reference features, this work is a one-stop resource on the Holocaust for students, teachers, library media specialists, and interested readers.
Understanding the Holocaust by
Publication Date: 1999-10-01
What is the Holocaust? Where Hitler and his executioners sadistic psychopaths? Were ordinary Germans morally culpable for murdering millions of innocent victims? Where was God during this tragedy? This volume seeks to explore these and other ethical, cultural, and religious questions withing a historical context. Beginning with the origin and growth of anti-Semitism, this historical survey continues with an account of the various stages of the Nazi onslaught, and concludes with a consideration of the legacy of the Holocaust in the modern world.
The Holocaust by
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
The Holocaust: Readings and Interpretations raises important questions related to the study of the Holocaust and offers potential answers to these questions through interpretive essays from the field's leading scholars, many with differing opinions and points of view. The book emphasizes the complexity of the subject, while it seeks to provide an understanding of an historical event that for many people still defies comprehension. Although the attempted annihilation of European Jews by Hitler's Third Reich occurred between 1933 and 1945, the roots of antisemitism are at least two millennia old. Each of the book's nine chapters raises relevant questions regarding the Holocaust: its historical context, the factors which made it possible, its victims and perpetrators, responses to it by individuals, groups, and nations, issues of gender, and the philosophical and theological implications. The concluding section of the book explores the latest scholarship in the field through analysis and evaluation of the topics which attract historians today.
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
"New museums, monuments, and memorials to the Holocaust now punctuate the skylines of many cities and towns throughout the western world. No other historical event commands this attention. No other historical event sits so visibly at the heart of our public, political, and social life." "Holocaust reshapes the way we think and talk about the greatest crime in history. Unrivaled in reach and scope, Holocaust is a story of all Europe, of the vast sweep of events in which this great atrocity was rooted, from the middle ages to the modern era. Award-winning authors Deborah Dwork and Robert Jan van Pelt frame the Holocaust in the history of Jews in the west - from traditional Christian anti-Judaism, through the Enlightenment, the birth of nation-states, the misery of World War I, and the unstable interwar period. Tracking the Germans' assault on the Jews as the Reich devoured Europe, Dwork and van Pelt tell a multifaceted story of social, political, and cultural upheaval and moral agony." "Weaving together the history of the Germans' domination of Europe and their murder of the Jews, Dwork and van Pelt show the intimate connection between the conduct of World War II and the persecution and ultimate genocide of the Jews. They tell of the experience of wartime occupation, the suffering of marked victims, the failure of international rescue, and the success of individual rescuers. No other book in any language has so embraced this complex story."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Catastrophe and Meaning by
Publication Date: 2003-11-15
How should we understand the relation of the Holocaust to the broader historical processes of the century just ended? How do we explain the bearing of the Holocaust on problems of representation, memory, memorialization, and historical practice? These are some of the questions explored by an esteemed group of scholars in Catastrophe and Meaning, the most significant multiauthored book on the Holocaust in over a decade. This collection features essays that consider the role of anti-Semitism in the recounting of the Holocaust; the place of the catastrophe in the narrative of twentieth-century history; the questions of agency and victimhood that the Holocaust inspires; the afterlife of trauma in literature written about the tragedy; and the gaps in remembrance and comprehension that normal historical works fail to notice. Contributors: Omer Bartov, Dan Diner, Debòrah Dwork, Saul Friedländer, Geoffrey Hartman, Dominick LaCapra, Paul Mendes-Flohr, Anson Rabinbach, Frank Trommler, Shulamit Volkov, Froma Zeitlin
A History of the Holocaust by
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
Told with scrupulous care for accuracy, this book examines the causes and events of the Holocaust, giving important background information on Jewish life in Europe, on the functions of the hierarchy within the Nazi government, and the psychological foundations of prejudice. Controversial topics cover specific issues, such as: was the Holocaust the result of centuries of anti-Semitism? Was Germany's support of the Nazi dictatorship widespread? Was the Holocaust premeditated? Was there signficant Jewish resistance? When did the world learn of the Holocaust? How should the actions of the Judenraete be evaluated? How did the Righteous Gentiles remain true to their ethical standards? Can there be forgiveness? Did ordinary men commit extraordinary evil? For anyone who wants a clearly-written, completely factual account of the Holocaust in Europe during the Second World War.
The Holocaust by
Publication Date: 2008-01-23
This book details the history of the Jews, their two-millennia-old struggle with a larger Christian world, and the historical anti-Semitism that created the environment that helped pave the way for the Holocaust. It helps students develop the interpretative skills in the fields of history and law.
The Holocaust by
Publication Date: 2005-04-14
Despite the massive literature on the Holocaust, our understanding of it has traditionally been influenced by rather unsophisticated early perspectives and silences. This book summarises and criticises the existing scholarship on the subject and suggests new ways by which we can approach its study. It addresses the use of victim testimony and asks important questions: What function does recording the past serve for the victim? What do historians want from it? Are these two perspectives incompatible? The perpetrators of the Holocaust and the development of the murder process are closely examined. The book also compares the mentalities of the killers and the contexts of the killing with those in other acts of genocide and ethnic cleansing in the first half of the twentieth century, searching for an explanation within these comparisons. In addition, it looks at the bystanders to the Holocaust - considering the complexity and ambiguity at the heart of contemporary responses, especially within the western liberal democracies.Ultimately, this text highlights the essential need to place the Holocaust in the broadest possible context, emphasising the importance of producing high quality but sensitive scholarship in its study.
Approaching the Holocaust by
Publication Date: 2005-01-30
This is a unique book, comprising seven essays designed to make the reader think more critically about the Holocaust. It combines the author's familiarity with the history, research, bibliography and teaching of the Holocaust, to present clear examples of the importance of approaching the subject critically. It provides the tools necessary for those that read and study the Holocaust to find their way in the ever-growing bibliography of the subject.
Remembering for the Future by
Publication Date: 2001-04-20
Focused on 'The Holocaust in an Age of Genocide', Remembering for the Future brings together the work of nearly 200 scholars from more than 30 countries and features cutting-edge scholarship across a range of disciplines, amounting to the most extensive and powerful reassessment of the Holocaust ever undertaken. In addition to its international scope, the project emphasizes that varied disciplinary perspectives are needed to analyze and to check the genocidal forces that have made the Twentieth century so deadly. Historians and ethicists, psychologists and literary scholars, political scientists and theologians, sociologists and philosophers - all of these, and more, bring their expertise to bear on the Holocaust and genocide. Their contributions show the new discoveries that are being made and the distinctive approaches that are being developed in the study of genocide, focusing both on archival and oral evidence, and on the religious and cultural representation of the Holocaust.
The Holocaust by
Publication Date: 2017-04-18
n June 1944, Freda Wineman and her family arrived at Auschwitz-Birkenau, the infamous Nazi concentration and death camp. After a cursory look from an SS doctor, Freda's life was spared and her mother was sent to the gas chambers. Freda only survived because the Allies won the war -- the Nazis ultimately wanted every Jew to die. Her mother was one of millions who lost their lives because of a racist regime that believed that some human beings simply did not deserve to live -- not because of what they had done, but because of who they were. Laurence Rees has spent twenty-five years meeting the survivors and perpetrators of the Third Reich and the Holocaust. In this sweeping history, he combines this testimony with the latest academic research to investigate how history's greatest crime was possible. Rees argues that while hatred of the Jews was at the epicenter of Nazi thinking, we cannot fully understand the Holocaust without considering Nazi plans to kill millions of non-Jews as well. He also reveals that there was no single overarching blueprint for the Holocaust. Instead, a series of escalations compounded into the horror. Though Hitler was most responsible for what happened, the blame is widespread, Rees reminds us, and the effects are enduring. The Holocaust: A New History is an accessible yet authoritative account of this terrible crime. A chronological, intensely readable narrative, this is a compelling exposition of humanity's darkest moment.
Digital Engagement Librarian