Historical Material from UNO Libraries' Archives & Special Collections
UNO Libraries' Archives & Special Collections ensures UNO’s unique, rare, and specialized collections of institutional archives, personal papers, organizational records, rare books, and other material is available for public use.
The papers of Katie Johnson of Newport, New Hampshire, include six letters from her sister Emma Kimball and her mother in Vermont. The letters cover typical family matters including accidents, weather, fires, farming matters including new lambs and crops, maple syrup season, illnesses, socializing, and other matters.
This collection includes materials from Travel & Transport, Inc., Nebraska tourism, and Haulaway, Inc. Also included are materials gathered from Lawrence Youngman’s interest in Nebraska aviation and air travel in general and from the months he spent in Europe as an Omaha World-Herald correspondent during World War II.
These games are all suitable for children in the grades. Some of them are also played by high school pupils and adults. Many of them can be adapted for dances or drills. They are all traditional, coming; to us for the most part from England or by way of England. The many versions indicate the local adaptations made during their travels to us from the Eastern Seaboard States.
These reminiscences of George W. Streeter, who prefers to be known as Dad Streeter, relate experiences and events in which he participated while living in Nebraska during the 1880's The manuscript was first submitted to the Federal Writers' Project in Utah (where Mr. Streeter now resides in Ogden), and then, through the National Office in Washington, D.C., to the Nebraska Federal Writers' Project. In order to preserve the flavor and flow of the rough narrative, editing was reduced to a minimum.
During the years covered by the reminiscences, "Dad" lived the life of a roving cowboy-constantly moving from Nebraska to Kansas, Wyoming, Colorado and back to Nebraska again. His life was spent on horses, either breaking bucking mustangs-which required a fine sense of balance and ability to anticipate what the wild horse would do next--or rounding up steers for the branding irons.
In addition to his stories of the range , his accounts of bull-whacking, mule skinning and stage-driving, the pranking of tenderfeet and missionaries, his meetings with Cattle Kate, Calamity Jane and Buffalo Biil, the hazards of prairie fires and blizzards, frontier justice and encounters with Indians, are a valuable contribution to tho folklore of the West.
The Schesser family papers include a diary kept by patriarch Socrates Schesser in 1915 and an autograph book belonging to son Roy Schesser from 1907. The autograph book was made in Germany and features a child on the colorful front. The Schesser family lived in Prairie View, Kansas. Socrates Schesser who was born in April 1873. He married Paulina Louise Gunther and had five children: Arthur E., Guy C., Orland D., Gertie, and Roy. Socrates was a farmer and blacksmith.
A travel journal of a family’s move from near Ashland, Nebraska to near Arcata, California via train recorded in an incomplete copy of an unidentified almanac for 1874. The almanac begins with April 1874 and includes 89 pages of printed material including engravings. The journal or diary section at the end of almanac includes notes for all but seven days for 1874.
Some of the engravings include: German draught oxen, walls of Bologne, France, royal tiger, kangaroos, American elk, a fox raiding a roost, musk oxen, balloon travel, zebras, lobsters fighting, dragon fly, grand geyser of Iceland, falls of Zambesi, gathering grain, and others.
The WPA Records are drafts and research notes used for the books and pamphlets produced by the Omaha office of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) Federal Writers' Project (FWP) (1935-1943). The bulk of the papers are typescript, with a few handwritten notes. The collection includes reports about architectural works (primarily buildings), businesses and industry, cemeteries, charities, collections, crime and criminals, defense trainee interviews, education, ethnicity (race and national origin), fine arts (artists, authors, music, and theater), folklore, hospitals, interviews and biographies, the Missouri River, the State of Nebraska, newspaper clippings on a variety of topics, information about the newspapers themselves (rivalries, strikes, unions, newspapermen, and individual Nebraska newspapers), the City of Omaha, organizations and clubs, parks, politics, printing, "Prophets of Armageddon" (including information about George F. Train), radio scripts ("Pageant of Nebraska," "Pageant of Omaha," and "Pageant of Wakefield"), religion, residences, sports and recreation, the W.P.A. (American Guide Manual, bibliographies, correspondence, indexes, projects, publications, tours, and writer's production reports), and miscellaneous information. The Nebraska category is further broken down into archaeology, Civilian Conservation Corps, Douglas County, early explorers and explorations, farming, history (the most extensive portion), military information, plants and wildlife, Sarpy County, topography, villages and towns outside of Omaha, Washington County, and miscellaneous information. The Nebraska portion of the collection also includes the Nebraska Almanac, the Nebraska Atlas, and the Nebraska Encyclopedia (biographies and county information).
The Ronald W. Roskens Speeches cover the period from 1960 until 1992, including Roskens' time as Vice President for Administration and Executive Vice President and Professor of Educational Administration at Kent State University (1959-1972), Chancellor of the University of Nebraska at Omaha (1972-1977), President of the University of Nebraska System (Central Administration in Lincoln, Nebraska) (1977-1989), and Administrator of the United States Agency for International Development (1990-1992). The speeches consist of typed notes and scripts.
This collection includes organizational records from the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessors, the Municipal University of Omaha and the University of Omaha, dating from the institution's founding in 1908 to the present. Records originated from many colleges, schools, departments, offices, committees, faculty and staff organizations, student organizations, and alumni. Materials include publications, event programs, conference materials, publicity material, meeting minutes, correspondence, budget information, internal reports, policies, architectural drawings, photographs, and miscellaneous records from various UNO and UNO-affiliated groups or relating to UNO people, buildings, events, and academic programs.
The University of Nebraska at Omaha yearbook was known as the Gateway from 1915-1927; then changed names to the Omahan from 1928-1929; then changed names to the Tomahawk from 1936-1970; then changed names to Breakaway from 1971-1972; before ending as the University of Nebraska at Omaha's Maverick from 1973-1975. The first yearbook, the Gateway (1915-1927), shares its name with the university’s longtime student newspaper. No yearbook was published in 1930-1935.
The papers of Prof. John "Jack" Shroder document his career as a geoscientist, particularly in Afghanistan and Pakistan. The collection includes correspondence, notes, reports, maps, reports, data, and other material created and gathered during his career. Prof. Shroder was one of the founders of the University of Nebraska at Omaha's (UNO) Center for Afghanistan Studies in 1972. Shroder began working with the government of Afghanistan and Kabul University along with his UNO Department of Geography / Geology colleague Prof. Chris Jung on geoscience projects in the early 1970s. After the Soviet invasion Shroder continued his research on Afghanistan from Pakistan and the U.S. including working on USAID contracts related to agriculture and mineral resources during the war. He also lectured on clean water sources and sewage sanitation in the Afghan refugee camps in the 1980s. Prof. Jung was the first director of UNO's Center for Afghanistan Studies and the collection also includes some of his research material. The collection documents much of Shroder's research interests and includes material related to Shroder's work on the National Atlas of Afghanistan project begun before the Soviet invasion, geology, geography, water issues, glaciers, other natural resources, and redevelopment in Afghanistan. Prof. Shroder continues to conduct research and publish. Future additions to the collection are expected.
Nathan Associates evaluated and prepared three sets of 5-year national economic plans in Afghanistan in 1961-1976. The firm also helped to coordinate national policies as part of its advisory role. The records of Nathan Associates span a variety of fields including industry, agriculture, and banking and include correspondence, financial documents, reports, meeting notes, and related material.
The book raises critical questions relating to both humanitarian intervention and development agendas in crisis states. It supports a growing literature that interrogates past and present interventions, but does so by putting food security at the heart of both short- and long-term responses to crisis. In this it addresses two main issues. First, to review the current understanding of agriculture and food security issues in Afghanistan. Second, to bring together lessons on the nature and practice of interventions in support of food security and agriculture, particularly in the post-2001 period. The findings are a testimony to successful interventions, and explore wider implications of building food security under conditions of political instability. The book brings together papers by key practitioners and food security analysts with knowledge of the agricultural and political economy of Afghanistan. It makes an ongoing contribution to the theories of post-war rehabilitation in fragile states, providing an important reference for operational agencies and researchers. Published in association with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.