Historical Material from UNO Libraries' Archives & Special Collections
UNO Libraries' Archives & Special Collections ensures UNO’s unique, rare, and specialized collections of institutional archives, personal papers, organizational records, rare books, and other material is available for public use.
The Nebraska Business Development Center Collection contains publications by the Nebraska Business Development Center (NBDC) covering the period from 1977 until about 2000. The collection includes NBDC Report (a publication for small business owners with short articles on business and economic topics, 1977-2000); Nebraska Business Tax Calendar (1987); Nebraska Business Calendar (1988-2000); NBDC Board member packets (circa 1981); and miscellaneous NBDC publications, including Superior, Nebraska: A Profile in Four Studies (1977); Legal Aspects of Doing Business in Nebraska (1983); and Debtors' and Creditors' Rights (1988).
The Phi Chi Theta - Alpha Phi Chapter Collection includes records and artifacts of the Alpha Phi Chapter of the Phi Chi Theta national fraternity for business and economics at the University of Nebraska at Omaha. Organizational records cover the period from roughly 1981-1987, and include meeting minutes, bylaws, correspondence, duties of members and officers, ceremonial information, pledge applications and manuals, pledge examinations, committee information, biennial meeting information, convention information, and activity sheets. Four scrapbooks cover the periods 1959-1963 (at the Municipal University of Omaha) and 1984-1986 (at UNO). Artifacts include pledge pins, a guest book signed by pledges, initiation ceremonial letters, felt fraternity banner, and the Phi Chi Theta Ritual Book with handwritten annotations and notecards (1985).
This collection includes organizational records from the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessors, the Municipal University of Omaha and the University of Omaha, dating from the institution's founding in 1908 to the present. Records originated from many colleges, schools, departments, offices, committees, faculty and staff organizations, student organizations, and alumni. Materials include publications, event programs, conference materials, publicity material, meeting minutes, correspondence, budget information, internal reports, policies, architectural drawings, photographs, and miscellaneous records from various UNO and UNO-affiliated groups or relating to UNO people, buildings, events, and academic programs.
The UNO College Business Management Short Course, later known as the College Business Management Institute, was a week-long summer workshop in administration, budget preparation, personnel management, purchasing, and other business aspects for operating colleges and small universities. The short course was first established at the University of Omaha in 1950. The University of Omaha (OU, until 1968) and the University of Nebraska at Omaha (UNO, after 1968) served as the headquarters for this national course, drawing faculty and attendees from across the United States. The records in the collection include the annual volumes (scrapbooks of typescripts, handwritten notes, photocopies, photographs, and ephemera) (1950-1957), student notebooks (attendee handouts, some with handwritten notes) (1955, 1957), reports to the Carnegie Corporation on the scholarship program (scrapbook-style) (1957-1959, 1963-1964), reports on the Short Course (1965-1974), certificates of completion of Harold Keefover (who served as director of the College Business Management) (1952-1957), participant binders (1984-1985), and annual report (1984).
The UNO College of Business Administration Records comprise publications, unpublished reports, and other print documents produced by the University of Nebraska at Omaha (formerly University of Omaha) College of Business Administration (CBA), covering the period from approximately 1950 until approximately 2012. The collection includes accreditation materials submitted by CBA to the American Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB); AACSB membership materials; CBA bylaws, policies, and procedures (1974 and 1986); a box of drafts, notes, and ephemera related to the history of CBA by Jack Hill (gathered in 2001-2002 or earlier); college business management comparative statistics for other universities (1941-1953); workshop reports and bibliographies related to the College Business Management Short Course (1950-1959); CBA planning documents; CBA faculty bibliographies; CBA annual report (2011/2012); a binder of materials related to the Midwest Forum of Entrepreneurs (circa 1991); and assorted CBA published and unpublished reports, case studies, economic reviews, reports on business opportunities and conditions, economic forecasts, employment demographics, theses, textbooks, and other CBA-generated documents, mostly related to Omaha and Nebraska (1950-2004).
The UNO Office of Business and Finance Records are comprised of office files and loose papers from the University of Nebraska at Omaha Office of Business and Finance. This collection includes information on part-time faculty, landscape plans, information about recipients of honorary degrees, committee records, grievances, policies, guidelines, workshops, correspondence, surveys, meeting minutes, and other paper records. The time period covered by these records is not confirmed, but the material does go back to at least 1990.
The University of Nebraska at Omaha yearbook was known as the Gateway from 1915-1927; then changed names to the Omahan from 1928-1929; then changed names to the Tomahawk from 1936-1970; then changed names to Breakaway from 1971-1972; before ending as the University of Nebraska at Omaha's Maverick from 1973-1975. The first yearbook, the Gateway (1915-1927), shares its name with the university’s longtime student newspaper. No yearbook was published in 1930-1935.
This collection includes materials from Travel & Transport, Inc., Nebraska tourism, and Haulaway, Inc. Also included are materials gathered from Lawrence Youngman’s interest in Nebraska aviation and air travel in general and from the months he spent in Europe as an Omaha World-Herald correspondent during World War II.
The National Association of Soda Jerks collection contains information about the membership organization (4 cubic feet), media coverage (2 cubic feet), its national conventions (2 cubic feet), and recollections shared by people who worked as soda jerks and business that included soda fountains (6 cubic feet).
The Omaha Chamber of Commerce Records cover business and industry in Omaha, Nebraska, spanning the period from 1912 until 1979. The records include meeting minutes from various committees and bureaus, the Chamber's newsletter (1912-1941 as Journal, 1941-1956 as News Bulletin, 1959-2004 as Profile), photographs, negatives, slides, newspaper clippings, correspondence, pamphlets, books and journals collected and used by the Chamber, and files with information about various businesses, organizations, events and topics of Omaha commercial interest.
The Omaha Collection is an eclectic mix of files relating to the city of Omaha, Nebraska, and to areas of research pursued by faculty members of the Municipal University of Omaha, notably Ralph M. Wardle, professor of English, and Wilfred Payne, professor of Philosophy.
The miscellaneous portions of the collection include material unrelated to Omaha. The collection includes information on Boys Town; the City of Omaha Financial Bulletin (1929); the Douglas County Election Announcement (1854); a letter from O.K. Oleson to Jim (last name unknown) concerning expansionism (1899); "The Lost Province of Quivira" (theorized to be Nebraska) reprint by Michael A. Shine (1916); Omaha annexation ordinances (1959-1966); Omaha city charter revisions (1954-1957); Omaha street car and bus routes (1929); a Journal of Genealogy issue devoted to researching in Nebraska (1979); information on Omaha's World War II Memorial Park (1943-1945); letters to Ralph Wardle from prominent authors in response to invitations to speak in Omaha, including letters from writers Conrad Aiken, W.H. Auden, John Barth, Mrs. Vladimir Nabokov, Susan Sontag, and John Updike (all 1967); a letter from William Kloefkorn to Mel Bohn (1980); a letter concerning anti-Semitism in Germany (1933); brochures about U.S. savings bonds (1939-1949); and two folders of newspaper clippings and one folder of photographs and negatives depicting Omaha locations and people. The reasons these materials are housed together, despite apparently different origins, are unclear.
The Kansan Schesser family papers include a diary kept by patriarch Socrates Schesser in 1915 and an autograph book belonging to son Roy Schesser from 1907. The autograph book was made in Germany and features a child on the colorful front.
U.S. government documents produced by the Office of Price Administration, 1941-1947, during and immdiately after World War II. Some of the government reports are jointly issued with the Office of War Information. Also included are scattered correspondence and other material from the Omaha District Office.
The WPA Records are drafts and research notes used for the books and pamphlets produced by the Omaha office of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) Federal Writers' Project (FWP) (1935-1943). The bulk of the papers are typescript, with a few handwritten notes. The collection includes reports about architectural works (primarily buildings), businesses and industry, cemeteries, charities, collections, crime and criminals, defense trainee interviews, education, ethnicity (race and national origin), fine arts (artists, authors, music, and theater), folklore, hospitals, interviews and biographies, the Missouri River, the State of Nebraska, newspaper clippings on a variety of topics, information about the newspapers themselves (rivalries, strikes, unions, newspapermen, and individual Nebraska newspapers), the City of Omaha, organizations and clubs, parks, politics, printing, "Prophets of Armageddon" (including information about George F. Train), radio scripts ("Pageant of Nebraska," "Pageant of Omaha," and "Pageant of Wakefield"), religion, residences, sports and recreation, the W.P.A. (American Guide Manual, bibliographies, correspondence, indexes, projects, publications, tours, and writer's production reports), and miscellaneous information. The Nebraska category is further broken down into archaeology, Civilian Conservation Corps, Douglas County, early explorers and explorations, farming, history (the most extensive portion), military information, plants and wildlife, Sarpy County, topography, villages and towns outside of Omaha, Washington County, and miscellaneous information. The Nebraska portion of the collection also includes the Nebraska Almanac, the Nebraska Atlas, and the Nebraska Encyclopedia (biographies and county information).
Trust is the Coin of the Realm shines a rare light into the labyrinth of Afghanistan's 'money men' and their influential informal economy that links the Islamic world. Hawala is the ancient financial system that predates Muhammad, and provides a vital key to engaging with many of the world's traditional cultures. Stereotyped as 'built for terrorism' and a dangerous pipeline for dirty money in the wake of 9/11, Thompson reveals it to be indispensable to the work and reach of humanitarians, donors, family members, and the business community. Outsiders striving to build states and peace in crisis countries will find this book invaluable for earning the trust that is essential if their efforts are to make a lasting difference.