Historical Material from UNO Libraries' Archives & Special Collections
UNO Libraries' Archives & Special Collections ensures UNO’s unique, rare, and specialized collections of institutional archives, personal papers, organizational records, rare books, and other material is available for public use.
The UNO Physical Plant records are concerned with the buildings of the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessor the University of Omaha. The records include both current buildings and buildings which no longer exist or are no longer UNO property, and cover the period from approximately 1908 to the present, although the vast majority of records cover the period from the 1970s to the present. The records comprise plans and program statements, physical plant information by building, architectural blueprints, and miscellaneous information.
This collection includes organizational records from the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessors, the Municipal University of Omaha and the University of Omaha, dating from the institution's founding in 1908 to the present. Records originated from many colleges, schools, departments, offices, committees, faculty and staff organizations, student organizations, and alumni. Materials include publications, event programs, conference materials, publicity material, meeting minutes, correspondence, budget information, internal reports, policies, architectural drawings, photographs, and miscellaneous records from various UNO and UNO-affiliated groups or relating to UNO people, buildings, events, and academic programs.
The UNO Artifact Collection includes objects related to the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessor the University of Omaha, from circa 1908 to the present. The collection includes a diverse array of OU and UNO branded items, t-shirts, hats, sweaters, blankets, scrapbooks, proclamations, trophies, award plaques, flags, pennants, pins, pens, seat cushions, coffee mugs, toys, ephemera, memorabilia, and other objects.
The UNO Annual Reports collection comprises the printed monthly and annual reports of the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessor the Municipal University of Omaha, covering the period from 1929 through 1995.
The Durham Science Center Building Records cover the planning and construction of the Durham Science Center building on the University of Nebraska at Omaha Dodge Street campus. Construction began in 1985, and the building was open for classes in Fall, 1987. The building houses several departments, including Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, and Geology/Geography. The records include bond purchasing agreements, construction information, budget information, committee information, correspondence, planning documents, and other miscellaneous documentation, spanning the period from about 1980 until about 1987.
The Peter Kiewit Conference Center Building Records cover the planning and construction of the Peter Kiewit Conference Center, a University of Nebraska at Omaha off-campus facility located at 1313 Farnam Street in Omaha, Nebraska. The project was authorized in 1976 by the Nebraska State Legislature Appropriations Committee with LB 1006. Construction began in 1977 and was completed in 1980.
The UNO Criss Library Records are comprised of materials produced by or used by the Dr. C.C. and Mabel L. Criss Library of the University of Nebraska at Omaha, and its predecessors the University Library and the Eugene C. Eppley Library.
Architecture Materials in Special Collections & Rare Books
The H. A. Raapke Architectural Drawings collection contains original architectural drawings and studies dating from 1899 to 1907. The collection includes one sketchbook (9.5" x 7.5") with detached pages, containing detailed, precise pencil sketches of architectural flourishes, initialled HAR and annotated with measurements, locations in Italy and Germany, and dates (1906-1907). The bulk of the collection comprises 48 loose sheets (most 18.5" x 24.5") with detailed architectural drawings in pencil, some with watercolor accents. Some are stamped "Altier Préparatoire D'Architecture, Godefroy & Freynet, 4, Rue du Dragon, 4 - Paris" or "Ecole Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Concours D'Emulation."
The designs shown in this book have been selected from work designed and planned by H. D. Frankfurt, Architect, of Omaha.
It was the publisher's aim to place before the public a high class book, showing modern and artistic buildings of various classes, which show the different styles of architecture, treated in different ways, and to suit various circumstances, as each individual location has its peculiarities and necessitates an entirely different class and design of building.
With the sixteen years of practical experience and technical training Mr. Frankfurt has had, the Architectural Department of Hastings & Heyden hope to give its clients the very best possible service that can be obtained, and this Department is open at all times to give information or make sketches for our prospective clients, and give estimates on cost of buildings. Investment possibilities, rental value, etc., will also be cheerfully given without charge. We will be glad· to submit floor plans for any design shown in this book. We also have over two hundred stock plans of various designs of houses and buildings on file in our office, which you can select from, and if no changes are made can be sec~red for a very small amount.
Architecture Materials in the Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection
Afghanistan, a country which for generations has inspired writers, travellers and explorers, does not lend itself to easy categorization. Straddling Central Asia, and situated at the edges of the Indian subcontinent and the Middle East, Afghanistan distills elements and characteristics from all three of these regions. For Afghanistan is part of them all - and at the same time a part of none. And, as Warwick Ball shows in this richly illustrated and timely book, herein lies an explanation for Afghanistan's allure, its cultural wealth, and ultimately perhaps its tragedy. For it is a country whose complex essence is hard to define, a land which has always taken on aspects from outside, but which remains as stubbornly individualistic as its own mountainous landscape. That challenge posed by its distinct component parts looking in different directions has resulted in multi-layered and sometimes problematic questions of identity. Monuments of Afghanistan is a completely unique and meticulously researched guide to the history and background of this fascinating country. It provides broad summaries of the history, architecture and archaeology of the region, together with a gazetteer of the main monuments and archaeological sites. As Warwick Ball shows, no history of China, Persia, India or Russia can be understood without continual reference to the landlocked area at whose center lies the majestic deserts and sweeping mountain ranges. Afghanistan has always seemed to be the enigmatic key to the histories and destinies of others. Even today large tracts of this remarkable country remain unexplored and unknown. There is therefore a need for a book which describes and reveals its hidden treasures for the general reader and students. The Monuments of Afghanistan - which contains 150 color plates of such extraordinary artifacts as the 38 meter Bamiyan Buddha (notoriously destroyed by the Taliban), the Minaret of Mas'ud at Ghazni, theIron Age citadel at Kandahar, the mausoleum at Kuhsan and the Minaret of Jam - meets that requirement.Yet there is a further reason why the appearance of this book is so significant. Twenty years of fighting and instability have taken their toll on the immense Afghan cultural legacy. Destruction of the Bamiyan statues was merely the most public casualty among many others. This book chronicles and illustrates all of the major (and many lesser known) monuments and buildings that have been lost or damaged. Based on this extraordinary collection of photographs taken before the destruction in Afghanistan, the book captures the memory of a heritage under threat. There is a pressing need for this record of all the buildings - whether now lost, or still surviving - in their entirety, and which testifies in photographic form to their dignity and beauty. The Monuments of Afghanistan represents, above all, an enduring and poignant memorial to a culture built in one of the most extraordinary and transporting landscapes on earth.
The archaeology and architecture of Afghanistan have never been the subject of their own book before; through concise description and discussion Edgar Knobloch here reveals their importance both as works of art, and as symbols of the country's past, geography and character. Tracing the historical and cultural development of artistic and architectural styles, this book comprehensively examines the major sites, with detailed description of their buildings and decoration. The extent to which these structures were influences by Afghanistan's long history of war and invasion - from Alexander the Great to the present day - is discussed against a clear and informative outline of the country's past and present. Illustrated with evocative photographs of both monuments and daily life, the book describes in detail the artistic movements and achievements of Afghanistan, while constantly reminding the reader that these images, taken by the author in 1978, show a cultural heritage which may no longer exist. Edgar Knoblock studied Middle Eastern History at the Charles University and the Oriental Institute in Prague. He has visited, researched and photographed archaeological sites and architectural monuments throughout the Islamic world. His photographs have been exhibited at the British Museum, the Royal Geographic Society and the School of Oriental and African studies.