Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Historical Material from UNO Libraries' Archives & Special Collections

UNO Libraries' Archives & Special Collections ensures UNO’s unique, rare, and specialized collections of institutional archives, personal papers, organizational records, rare books, and other material is available for public use.

International Human Rights Material in Archives and Special Collections

In addition to the selected collections listed here to get your research started, search Archives & Special Collections' database for additional material. 

Human Right Materials in the U.S. Senator Chuck Hagel Archives

462 videos make up Senator Chuck Hagel's video record. Most reflect his time in the U.S. Senate from 1997 to 2008. A handful chronicle his race for the U.S. Senate in 1995 and 1996 and his life outside the Senate. The videos show him on national and local news programs, in debates, on the Senate floor, in committee hearings, and giving speeches in Nebraska and around the U.S.

​This file contains documents from the October 3, 2007 hearing “Combating Genocide in Darfur: The Role of Divestment and Other Policy Tools.” The hearing would be an opportunity to discuss the benefits and costs of imposing unilateral sanctions on a third world nation. Included in this file is a briefing memo from Senator Hagel’s staff, and a suggested question list. There is a background memo from Banking Committee staff. For a human rights perspective:

​This sub-series of 17 cubic feet of material contains files pertaining to Senator Chuck Hagel’s service on the U.S. Senate Foreign Relations Committee (SFRC) from 1997 to 2008. The topics covered in this sub-series include pre- and post-9/11 relations with Iraq, information regarding the Kyoto Protocol, and hearings for the nomination of John Bolton as US Ambassador to the United Nations. The background files are the largest sub-series containing approximately 50% of overall material. For a human rights perspective:

Grant Files document the ways in which Hagel's office assisted constituents and organizations in Nebraska with locating, obtaining, and celebrating grant work. Grant Files are divided into 3 subseries: Looking for Funding, Grant Work, and Grant Announcements. For a human rights perspective:

Human Right Materials in University Archives

Labor-Related Human Right Material in Archives and Special Collections

LGBTQ+ Human Rights Materials in Archives and Special Collections

Human Rights Materials in Afghanistan Collection