Historical Material from UNO Libraries' Archives & Special Collections
UNO Libraries' Archives & Special Collections ensures UNO’s unique, rare, and specialized collections of institutional archives, personal papers, organizational records, rare books, and other material is available for public use.
The collection includes material produced by Vera Lundahl throughout her life, printed material, and personal material. Works produced by Vera Lundahl throughout her life, from student papers to published works, including both print articles and VHS videos. In some cases, drafts as well as finished works are included. Print materials related to dance productions at University of Nebraska at Omaha during Vera's tenure, including programs, mailers, flyers, posters, correspondence, news clippings, schedules, photographs, and other miscellaneous materials.
The materials in the UNO Dance Collection relate to the University of Nebraska at Omaha's dance program, dating from the group's founding as Orchesis in the 1930s, through its replacement by The Moving Company in the 1970s, and to the present. Materials related to the Omaha Modern Dance Collective, a frequent partner of The Moving Company in the 1990s and 2000s, are also included in the collection. The papers include programs, mailers, flyers, posters, correspondence, news clippings, schedules, photographs, negatives, slides, ticket stubs, financial information, and other miscellaneous materials related to dance productions of Orchesis, The Moving Company, and the Omaha Modern Dance Collective, covering the period from the 1930s to the present.
The UNO Theatre records include production binders (circa 1986-2003), set plans, stage designs, artwork (drawings and paintings of set plans and stage designs), programs (circa 1917 to the present), posters, flyers, publicity material, news articles, reviews, photographs, negatives, and miscellaneous material related to dramatic productions by students at the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessor the University of Omaha, covering the period from 1917 to the present.
The UNO College of Communication, Fine Arts and Media Records comprise primarily event programs from the Department of Music along with a small number of documents from the College of Fine Arts (predecessor of the College of Communication, Fine Arts and Media).
UNO student newspaper The Gateway offers readers a glimpse into campus life. Articles, photos, advertisements, and specific dates can be searched in issues dating back to 1922 with more recent issues added on a regular schedule.
The University of Nebraska at Omaha yearbook was known as the Gateway from 1915-1927; then changed names to the Omahan from 1928-1929; then changed names to the Tomahawk from 1936-1970; then changed names to Breakaway from 1971-1972; before ending as the University of Nebraska at Omaha's Maverick from 1973-1975. The first yearbook, the Gateway (1915-1927), shares its name with the university’s longtime student newspaper. No yearbook was published in 1930-1935.
This collection includes organizational records from the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessors, the Municipal University of Omaha and the University of Omaha, dating from the institution's founding in 1908 to the present. Records originated from many colleges, schools, departments, offices, committees, faculty and staff organizations, student organizations, and alumni. Materials include publications, event programs, conference materials, publicity material, meeting minutes, correspondence, budget information, internal reports, policies, architectural drawings, photographs, and miscellaneous records from various UNO and UNO-affiliated groups or relating to UNO people, buildings, events, and academic programs.
The UNO Course Catalogs and Class Schedules Collection consists of course catalogs and class schedules from the University of Nebraska at Omaha (UNO) and its predecessor the Municipal University of Omaha (OU).
The UNO Artifact Collection includes objects related to the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessor the University of Omaha, from circa 1908 to the present. The collection includes a diverse array of OU and UNO branded items, t-shirts, hats, sweaters, blankets, scrapbooks, proclamations, trophies, award plaques, flags, pennants, pins, pens, seat cushions, coffee mugs, toys, ephemera, memorabilia, and other objects.
The UNO Photograph Collections includes prints, negatives, slides, and digital images from the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessors, the Municipal University of Omaha and the University of Omaha, dating from the institution's founding in 1908 to the present. A small portion of the collection is available online
The Robert G. Ruetz Papers include materials related to his time as a Professor of Music at the University of Nebraska at Omaha (1965-1990) and materials related to his service on the Opera Omaha Board of Directors. UNO related materials include committee reports, faculty handbook, curriculum reviews, planning documents, publicity articles, Brian Way residency information, correspondence, reviews of the UNO music program, scripts for KVNO-FM Opera broadcasts (1975-1976), audio recordings of UNO recitals (1966-1973), videos of television interviews, and framed UNO Opera Theatre photos & news clippings (circa 1960s-1970s). Ruetz also collected research materials on Eugenia Whitmore (letters and pictures, 1917-1957) and Mary Munchoff (reviews (1897-1899), pictures, letters, news articles, programs, and information on her teachers Matilde Marchesi and Mary Fitzsimmons Massie). Opera Omaha related materials include search committee notes, reviews, preview information (1968-1994), performance programs (1959-1990, 2006-2008), the 40 year book, the 50 year book, and notes used to make the 50 year book.
The Henry Cox Collection includes: two photocopies of a lengthy biographical work, "The Life and Career of Henry Cox," author unknown; news clippings about Cox; and the Omaha Musicians Directory, 1914-1915, and a booklet about violins from the library of Henry Cox. The connection between Henry Cox and music programs from 1913 and an explanatory letter dated 1943 is unclear. The collection also includes two unidentified black and white photographs of an orchestra.
The collection includes a series of musical scores compiled into folios by Mary Münchhoff, with an index compiled by Robert Ruetz. A series of original and miscellaneous mostly appear to be original autographs by the composer, also compiled into a folio by Mary Münchhoff, with an index compiled by Robert Ruetz. Both of the former series have been cataloged and may be discovered by searching WorldCat. Finally, a series of about 3.8 cubic feet of music scores has not been further arranged or described. Many of these appear to be inscribed by Mary Münchhoff or one of her students. Other music scores originally collected by Münchhoff, which did not have distinctive inscriptions or markings, were presumably integrated into the Criss Library Music Score Collection.
The James B. Peterson Papers comprise primarily handwritten scores of Peterson's original music compositions, along with some "autograph copies" (photocopies) of his scores; a reel-to-reel audio recording of Peterson's retirement dinner, April 30, 1978; a newspaper clipping, and a handwritten note. Peterson's compositions include a woodwind quintet, quartet in C, fantasy for oboe and piano, concerto for oboe and wind ensemble, sinfonia for string orchestra, improvisation with two oboes and English horn, quartet for brass, sonatas for violin with piano or with piano and cello, a suite of modes, and a requiem.
The UNO Performing Arts Center Performance Recordings comprise at least 550 audiocassette recordings of recitals and concerts performed at the Straus Performing Arts Center at the University of Nebraska at Omaha, from circa 1982 until circa 2001. Many of the cassettes are labeled with the name of the performer (individual or group), instrument(s), date of performance, and list of pieces performed. Some cassettes are minimally labeled or ambiguously labeled. It is believed that a small number of class lectures are included in the collection.
Arts Materials in Special Collections & Rare Books
The records of Nebraska Shakespeare Festival includes material from its founding in 1986 to the present, documenting the history of the organization, its administration, and its productions. The collection includes production binders (1987-2007), programs, posters, publicity material, reviews, photographs, slides, meeting minutes, bylaws, schedules, fiscal information, inventory information, staff information, correspondence, planning documents, and other documentation related to the Nebraska Shakespeare Festival, also known as Shakespeare on the Green.
The records of the Omaha Symphony Guild document events organized by the group as well as governance functions of the board of directors from circa 1990-2011 with gaps in the records. Organizational records include the secretary’s notebooks (2003-2006), treasurer’s notebooks and reports (1999-2005, Omaha Symphony Guild Advisor, as well as material created by other officers including the President, Executive Committee, Board of Directors, President-Elect, Vice President for Administration, Vice President for Education.
The Omaha Theater Company Records contain materials from 1949 to the present, documenting the history of the organization, its administration, and its productions. The organization changed names during the covered period, starting as the Omaha Junior Theater in 1948, becoming the Emmy Gifford Children's Theater in 1977, and becoming the Omaha Theater Company for Young People in 1993, eventually shortening the name to the Omaha Theater Company. The group performed in the Center Theater from 1974 until 1993, when they moved into the Rose Blumkin Performing Arts Center, commonly known as The Rose.
The Omaha Zine Collection is predominantly zines produced by local and regional creators with selected national zines. Topics include perzines, social justice, self-care, art, music, comics, LGBTQIA+, and many other subjects. The majority of zines in the collection were acquired at Omaha Zine Fest beginning in 2017 with other notable additions by students creating zines for their UNO classes.
The records of Opera Omaha include material from before its founding in the 1950s to the present, documenting the history of the organization, its administration, and its productions. The collection holds board meeting minutes (1958-1994), news clippings (1954-1990), audio and video recordings (1960s-2000s), as well as scrapbooks, photographs, negatives, slides, programs, posters, original artwork, and related material.
The WPA Records are drafts and research notes used for the books and pamphlets produced by the Omaha office of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) Federal Writers' Project (FWP) (1935-1943). The bulk of the papers are typescript, with a few handwritten notes. The collection includes reports about architectural works (primarily buildings), businesses and industry, cemeteries, charities, collections, crime and criminals, defense trainee interviews, education, ethnicity (race and national origin), fine arts (artists, authors, music, and theater), folklore, hospitals, interviews and biographies, the Missouri River, the State of Nebraska, newspaper clippings on a variety of topics, information about the newspapers themselves (rivalries, strikes, unions, newspapermen, and individual Nebraska newspapers), the City of Omaha, organizations and clubs, parks, politics, printing, "Prophets of Armageddon" (including information about George F. Train), radio scripts ("Pageant of Nebraska," "Pageant of Omaha," and "Pageant of Wakefield"), religion, residences, sports and recreation, the W.P.A. (American Guide Manual, bibliographies, correspondence, indexes, projects, publications, tours, and writer's production reports), and miscellaneous information. The Nebraska category is further broken down into archaeology, Civilian Conservation Corps, Douglas County, early explorers and explorations, farming, history (the most extensive portion), military information, plants and wildlife, Sarpy County, topography, villages and towns outside of Omaha, Washington County, and miscellaneous information. The Nebraska portion of the collection also includes the Nebraska Almanac, the Nebraska Atlas, and the Nebraska Encyclopedia (biographies and county information).
Almost 30 years ago, a precious trove of art was spirited away from the National Museum of Afghanistan by a small group of "keyholders" _museum guards, curators, and antiquities lovers who risked their lives to save the country’s cultural treasures. Their actions spared these magnificent pieces from the threat of destruction, first by the invading Soviets in 1979 and more recently by the Taliban. Exquisitely crafted in gold and ivory, the artifacts illustrate Afghanistan’s key place at the crossroads of Europe, the Middle East, and Asia, at the center of the ancient Silk Road_a rich heritage to be displayed at four major U.S. museums through 2009. Crowning this headline-making exhibition is a famous hoard of Bactrian gold, considered to be one of the greatest archaeological discoveries of the 20th century. To help create the exhibit and book, archaeologist and National Geographic Society Fellow Fredrik T. Hiebert inventoried the artifacts at the request of the Afghan government. Gorgeously photographed and elegantly packaged, the collection shines in this official companion to the much anticipated and widely covered tour. For the eager audiences who will visit, and for legions of art and history lovers across the United States, Afghanistan: Hidden Treasures provides a beautiful, affordable keepsake, a handsome gift, and a rare opportunity to appreciate this matchless tradition of artistry and the steadfast human spirit that preserved it.
Images of Afghanistan, an edited collection in the non-fiction Cultural/ Social genre provides the first-ever overview of the art and literature of Afghanistan. 32 chapters on art, music, film, proverbs, short stories, poetry, cartoons, and folktales in popular style offer key insights into the complexities of Afghan culture. The book is divided into seven sections. Introductory chapters focus on the history of Afghanistan and understanding culture through art and literature. A Dari Literature section covers classical and modern poetry, short stories, proverbs and children's rhymes. A Pashto Literature section includes traditional poetry, modern poetry, short stories, folktales, proverbs and tappas. The Themes of Culture section analyzes the dynamics of shame and honor in the Persio-Afghan setting, the traditional need for patronage and its modern relevance, the mystical longing for God as reflected in the ghazals of Hafiz, and romantic love in traditional and modern love stories. The Traditional Art section covers calligraphy, woodworking, and ceramics, the unique layout of the traditional city, and archeological heritage. The Performing Arts and Fine Art section explores the development of music, fine art, and film in Afghanistan. A final section called Potpourri features Afghan authors who help span the chasm between east and west, a selection of modern cultural initiatives, the infamous folk character Mullah Nasruddin, the role of women in art and literature, and cartoons and comedy.
During the last couple of decades Afghanistan s cultural heritage has faced exceptional challenges. Looting of the National Museum, Kabul Museum , the neglect of monuments and extensive illegal excavations have taken place. However, what really shook the world was the destruction of the Buddhas of Bamiyan in March 2001. This volume focuses on Afghanistan s cultural heritage protection. Its purpose is threefold. To provide an overview of the diversity of activities undertaken in the cultural heritage field. To change public opinion into a more positive one. And to serve as an example for future generations. This multidisciplinary book (including contributions from archaeologists, linguists, and lawyers) will interest both scholars in the cultural, legal and humanistic field as well as the public at large. Many exceptional photographs are included.