LibGuides: Historical Material from UNO Libraries' Archives & Special Collections: World War II Material in Criss Library Archives & Special Collections

WWII Materials in Special Collections & Rare Books

In addition to the selected collections listed here to get your research started, search Archives & Special Collections' database for additional material.

American Indian Oral History and Omaha Folklore Project Oral History Collection
The American Indian Oral History and Omaha Folklore Project Oral History Collection contains oral history interviews of Native Americans in Omaha, Nebraska as well as interviews collected as part of a program called the Oral History Collection of the Omaha Folklore Project. The interviews cover the cultures and personal histories of interviewees in the U.S. as well as leaving Europe in the first half of the 20th Century. Topics of discussion include life in Omaha, World War I, the Great Depression, World War II, and day-to-day life. Those interviewed were of Native American, Polish, German, Swedish, and other ethnic or national descents.
more...less...
The following information about the Oral History Collection of the Omaha Folklore Project was provided by UNO History professor Michael Tate: "This collection of several dozen taped interviews was assembled during the mid-1970s by mostly undergraduate UNO students under the direction of Dr. Michael Tate of the History Department. These tapes have not been transcribed, but each tape has a file folder containing an outline of the main points of the interview. These contain unique and detailed information about Omaha, Nebraska and rural towns from WWI through WWII." Prof. Tate provided the following information about the American Indian Oral History Taped Interviews portion of the collection: "This collection of several dozen taped interviews was assembled during the mid-1970s. Virtually all were conducted by UNO graduate students under the direction of Dr. Michael Tate of the UNO History Department. Most of the interview were with Native Americans who talked about education, health care, reservation life, urban life and a host of other relevant topics. These were mostly interviews with Lakota (Sioux), Omaha, and Ho-Chunk (Winnebago) tribal people, but also include other tribal representations. A few of the interviews have been fully transcribed but the majority contain detailed outlines of what is contained in each separate interview. Many of the interviews deal with the militant activities of the American Indian Movement during that era. Several also were conducted with judges and law enforcement officers who dealt with the controversial trials following AIM's occupation of Wounded Knee."
Dorothy Sater Teletype Collection
The Dorothy "Dottie" Sater Omaha Radio Station WOW December 6 and 7, 1941, Teletype Collection contains the teletypes from the Omaha, Nebraska, radio station WOW from December 6 and 7, 1941, the day before and the day of the attacks on Pearl Harbor. The teletypes predate Sater's employment at WOW and it is unclear how they came into her possession. Her family speculates that the teletypes may have been in an archive at WOW, and Sater may have rescued them from disposal. The teletypes paint an image of the days before and after the attack, showing the life of a country not yet at war, but still involved in the wars in Europe and the Pacific. The teletypes describe Hawaii, foreshadow the internment of Japanese Americans, and show a glimpse of daily life in Omaha in 1941.
Edna Cole Postcards
The Edna Cole Postcards consist of nine file boxes of photographic travel postcards from the late nineteenth century to the mid-twentieth century, representing more than thirty different countries. The postcards are organized alphabetically by country, and United States postcards are sub-organized by state. One German postcard includes a monument or sign related to the Third Reich.
Gene Vogel collection of B-26 Marauder Historical Society Newsletter, 1990-2002
The Gene Vogel collection of B-26 Marauder Historical Society Newsletter, 1990-2002, is comprised of published newsletters and magazines, primarily those produced by the B-26 Marauder Historical Society, an organization for pilots of the B-26 Marauder, a bomber used in World War II, and for aviation historians.
more...less...
The collection includes The B-26 Marauder Historical Society Newsletter (vol.2, 1990-vol. 4, 1992) and its successor The Marauder Thunder (vol.1, 1992-vol.9, 2002). Also included are issues of other magazines which contain articles about the Martin B-26 Marauder aircraft, one of which featured cover art commissioned by Gene Vogel.
Hallie Miles Diaries
The diaries of Hallie Miles document her life in Danville, Indiana from 1940-1945, including activities at her church, sewing, visiting with friends and family, choir rehearsal, and similar activities. She mentions giving lessons to children in her home. She comments on world events such as the death of President Franklin Roosevelt and the end of World War II. Her diaries also contain many news clippings, notes, and other bits of ephemera such as a WWII ration stamps envelope. Miles used a variety of types of diaries including desk calendar style, a diary provided by an insurance company, and embossed covers.
Hank Umemoto and George Uchida Oral History Interview
UNO graduate student Byrony Forbes interviewed Hank Umemoto and George Uchida on April 6, 2013, as part of the research for her master’s thesis about romantic and sexual relationships in Japanese American camps during World War II. In addition to sharing information about their experiences as teenagers at Manzanar incarceration center during WWII, Umemoto and Uchida shared other typical information about their families before, during, and after incarceration such as information about jobs and entertainment like dances.
John Barton Aviation Collection
The collection compiled by aviation enthusiast John Barton includes many images of aircraft and aircraft parts, including photographs taken by John Barton; photograph prints purchased by John Barton from aviation archives; photocopies of images from books and articles; and printouts from web pages.
more...less...
The majority of the images lack specific identification of subject or source. The collection also includes textual resources, including booklets, flyers, brochures, and maps, as well as photocopies and printouts of articles, books, patent documents, and other research materials related to aviation history, mechanics, and physics, with a particular emphasis on the Wright Brothers and Wright Flyers. Also included are some notes and writings which appear to be the work of John Barton.
Joyce Storm Scrapbook
The scrapbook of Joyce Storm is from the period in 1943 when she was hospitalized at the St. Joseph’s hospital in Omaha, Nebraska where she was given the Sister Kenny treatment for her polio. Storm’s scrapbook is largely composed of greeting cards sent to her while she was away from her home in Royal, Nebraska along with a few letters and news clippings about her hospitalization. The greeting cards are typical of the period and include contemporary topics such as references to World War II rationing.
Lawrence Youngman Papers
This collection includes materials from Travel & Transport, Inc., Nebraska tourism, and Haulaway, Inc. Also included are materials gathered from Lawrence Youngman’s interest in Nebraska aviation and air travel in general and from the months he spent in Europe as an Omaha World-Herald correspondent during World War II.
Martin Marauder
Scattered issues of the Martin Marauder - the employee newsletter of the Glenn L. Martin Company in Bellevue, Nebraska - from 1942-1945.
Mary E. Williamson Women Airforce Service Pilots (WASP) Collection
The collection is comprised of the personal effects of Mary Ellen Williamson relating to her service as a Women Airforce Service Pilot during World War II (1943-1944). The collection includes photographs, awards, certificates, official documents, forms, correspondence, WASP class books (44-W-10 and 44-W-7), maps, CD-ROMS of ceremonies, a commemorative medal, and needlecraft artwork depicting an aircraft with the phrase "I'd rather be flying."
Name? Rank? And Serial Number? For you the War is Over by Louis H. Breitenbach
Name? Rank? And Serial Number? For you the War is Over is an unpublished manuscript by Louis H. Breitenbach. This copy is a photocopy of Breitenbach's typescript, including copies of drawings by Breitenbach, photographs, maps, letters, articles, and other documents related to Breitenbach's experiences as a prisoner of war in Germany during World War II.
Omaha Chamber of Commerce Records
The Omaha Chamber of Commerce Records cover business and industry in Omaha, Nebraska, spanning the period from 1912 until 1979. The records include meeting minutes from various committees and bureaus, the Chamber's newsletter (1912-1941 as Journal, 1941-1956 as News Bulletin, 1959-2004 as Profile), photographs, negatives, slides, newspaper clippings, correspondence, pamphlets, books and journals collected and used by the Chamber, and files with information about various businesses, organizations, events and topics of Omaha commercial interest.
Omaha Collection
Includes one folder of information on the World War II Memorial Park (1943-1945).
Sam Fried Papers
These eleven volumes were compiled by Holocaust survivor, entrepreneur, and philanthropist Sam Fried in 2013. Through thousands of pages of documents including letters, speeches, photographs, and other material, Fried shared the story of his life with his wife and fellow Holocaust survivor Magda Fried, and philanthropist and wife Frances Fried. The books as titled by Fried are: A-5053 Sam Fried Holocaust Survivor; A-5854 Magda Chunovic Fried, Feb 14, 1929 To Nov 4, 1985; A-5053 Sam Fried Society of Survivors, Inc. (7/11/79) Book 1; A-5053 Sam Fried Society of Survivors, Inc. (7/11/79) Book 2; A-5053 Government Documents, Proclamations and Awards; A-5053 Frances and Sam Fried Holocaust Education Fund; A-5053 Frances and Sam Fried Holocaust Education Fund Book 2; A-5053 Frances and Sam Fried Holocaust Education Fund Book 3; A-5053 Jewish Motorcyclists Alliance (JAMA) (2006) and Ride to Remember (2008); A-5053 Nebraska Holocaust Memorial Dedicated April 15, 2017; and A-5053 Sam Fried Holocaust Index.
United States Office of Price Administration Records
U.S. government documents produced by the Office of Price Administration, 1941-1947, during and immdiately after World War II. Some of the government reports are jointly issued with the Office of War Information. Also included are scattered correspondence and other material from the Omaha District Office.
UNO Teaching Ephemera Collection
The UNO Teaching Ephemera Collection includes various ephemeral materials not directly related to the University of Nebraska at Omaha nor to Nebraska in general, but from a variety of sources and on a variety of topics in support of UNO curriculum.

See component record for each series for details. Includes examples of early photography, trading cards, advertisements, and other ephemera.
World War II Poster Collection
A collection of posters issued by the U.S. Government during World War II.
YMCA of Greater Omaha
The records of the YMCA of Greater Omaha include material from the organization’s founding in the 19th century through the 21st century. Material documenting board meetings from the 1880s to the early 21st century is nearly complete. Also included are: fundraising material, membership information, marketing material, photographs (bulk 1970s-1990s), scrapbooks, and a small amount of media formats including VHS videotapes. The scrapbooks contain newspaper clippings as well as ephemera such as broadsides and booklets. In addition to the activities of the boards of directors, fundraising, and membership, other topics with at least sporadic documentation include programming, long range planning, summer camps, athletic teams such as basketball and football, and others.
[Young Woman] Papers, 1942-1944
The collection was created by an unidentified young woman and includes her diary with entries from January-July 1942 and six letters from January-February 1944. The diary begins with a brief recap of 1941 and continues to document the author’s interest in securing a civil service position in Washington, D.C. during World War II, working in government positions (including doing indexing) and the Observer newspaper, listening to President Franklin Roosevelt on the radio, and other facets of her daily life on the home front during wartime through detailed entries. Also included is a photograph, which may or may not be the creator of the material.

WWII Materials in University Archives

In addition to the selected collections listed here to get your research started, search Archives & Special Collections' database for additional material.

The Gateway Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
UNO student newspaper The Gateway offers readers a glimpse into campus life. Articles, photos, advertisements, and specific dates can be searched in issues dating back to 1922. Current articles from The Gateway are available on the newspaper's website.

Clifford D. Kantz Papers
The Clifford D. Kantz papers are composed of the retired U.S. Air Force Major's remininsces and copies of documents related to his U.S. Air Force career and life beginning in World War II and continuing into civilian life.
Joe H. Baker Collection
The collection of Joe H. Baker documents his time as a University of Omaha student and president of the OU Alumni Association in 1950-1951. Included are yearbooks, scrapbooks, photographs, correspondence, a pen given to Baker at the conclusion of his term of service to the Alumni Association, and his freshman beanie cap bearing his class year 1943. Of note in the scrapbooks are newsletters of the Alumni Association, news clippings, programs, and similar material. A wooden sign reading "Keep out Baker's victory garden," presumably from the World War II era, includes carrots and tomatoes painted on the sign.
Ruth Diamond Levinson Dance Collection
Collection of material related to the dance program at the University of Omaha, including a scrapbook, a spiral notebook containing handwritten music, a collage of photographs laminated onto a wooden wall hanging, correspondence, departmental records, event programs, posters, photographs, news clippings, photocopies. The scrapbook includes photographs, news clippings, and ephemera including dried flower corsages. The photo collage plaque was given to Levinson at the time of her retirement.

The majority of the material, including the scrapbook, dates to 1940-1942, but some articles and programs date back into the early to mid-1930s, and some notes and letters are dated 1988.
more...less...
Ruth Diamond Levinson (1911-1913) was a dance instructor at the Municipal University of Omaha before World War II. In 1935, she founded Orchesis, the modern dance performing group that continues at the University of Nebraska at Omaha today under the name of the Moving Company. She served in the Red Cross during World War II, after which she married Harry Levinson. She taught physical education at the University of Nebraska--Lincoln (then just the University of Nebraska) for 22 years, retiring in 1973 and continuing to serve as the UNL Department of Physical Education's archivist post-retirement.
University Archives File Cabinet Collection (University of Nebraska at Omaha Records)
This collection includes organizational records from the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessors, the Municipal University of Omaha and the University of Omaha, dating from the institution's founding in 1908 to the present. Records originated from many colleges, schools, departments, offices, committees, faculty and staff organizations, student organizations, and alumni. Materials include publications, event programs, conference materials, publicity material, meeting minutes, correspondence, budget information, internal reports, policies, architectural drawings, photographs, and miscellaneous records from various UNO and UNO-affiliated groups or relating to UNO people, buildings, events, and academic programs.
UNO Annual Reports
The UNO Annual Reports collection comprises the printed monthly and annual reports of the University of Nebraska at Omaha and its predecessor the Municipal University of Omaha, covering the period from 1929 through 1995.
UNO Course Catalogs and Class Schedules Collection
The UNO Course Catalogs and Class Schedules Collection consists of course catalogs and class schedules from the University of Nebraska at Omaha (UNO) and its predecessor the Municipal University of Omaha (OU).
UNO Student Handbooks
The UNO Student Handbooks collection consists of official student handbooks issued by the University of Nebraska at Omaha (UNO) and its predecessor the Municipal University of Omaha (OU).
UNO Yearbooks
The University of Nebraska at Omaha yearbook was known as the Gateway from 1915-1927; then changed names to the Omahan from 1928-1929; then changed names to the Tomahawk from 1936-1970; then changed names to Breakaway from 1971-1972; before ending as the University of Nebraska at Omaha's Maverick from 1973-1975. The first yearbook, the Gateway (1915-1927), shares its name with the university’s longtime student newspaper. No yearbook was published in 1930-1935.
more...less...
Copies of the yearbook are available in Archives & Special Collections and on reserve at Criss Library's main service desk for check-out.