Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Historical Material from UNO Libraries' Archives & Special Collections

UNO Libraries' Archives & Special Collections ensures UNO’s unique, rare, and specialized collections of institutional archives, personal papers, organizational records, rare books, and other material is available for public use.

Omaha Music Collection

The Omaha Music Collection is a new local history documentation initiative from UNO Libraries' Archives and Special Collections. Historical materials documenting Omaha's diverse music scene including audio recordings, video recordings, photographs, posters, flyers, business records, setlists, zines, and other documentation are sought to grow the archives. 

Archivists anticipate working with musicians, venues, festival organizers, record labels, studios, radio stations and DJs, and others connected to the music scene in Omaha. The Omaha Music Collection intends to preserve the history and legacy of music in Omaha of all genres from contemporary musicians back to music of the early 20th century working with descendants of those musicians. Archivists look forward to preserving the important and varied musical legacy of Omahans as well as promoting the region's music history. UNO Libraries' Archives and Special Collections has collected archival, manuscript, and book collections about music for many years with material described in the library catalog and Archives & Special Collections' finding aids database. The new Omaha Music Collection is an initiative to focus collecting and attention on Omaha music.

Contact Director of Archives and Special Collections Amy Schindler to learn more or discuss a potential donation. 

Music Material in Special Collections & Rare Books

Music Material in University Archives

Music Material in Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection

Find Archives & Manuscripts

You can search our collections to find material related to your research interests before visiting Archives and Special Collections.

Finding aids serve as guides to specific archival and manuscript collections. Finding aids are also often thought of as inventories to collections.

Archives & Special Collections' finding aids database Nebraska Archives Online provides finding aids for researchers to search or browse. New finding aids and updated descriptions are continually added. Nebraska Archives Online also includes links to digitized material when available. A video tutorial is available. Note that in addition to collections held by UNO Libraries, finding aids for collections held by all University of Nebraska campuses are found in this database. If you have not found what you are looking for in the database, contact Archives and Special Collections staff for assistance.

Find Books

Archives & Special Collections' books, theses, and dissertations can be found by searching Criss Library's catalog.

Other selected material in Archives & Special Collections that can also be found in the library catalog includes periodicals, some maps, and some audiovisual material. Criss Library's catalog indexes books, CD's, DVD's, musical scores, maps, government documents, theses and dissertations, as well as other material available in the library outside of Archives & Special Collections. 

The Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection Bibliography, Volume I: Pashto and Dari Titles (1995) and Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection Bibliography - Volume II: English and European Languages (2000) are available online from DigitalCommons@UNO.