LibGuides: eBook Expo: LGBTQIA2S+ Health and Wellness

Health and Wellness Resources for the LGBTQIA2S+ Community

by Heidi Blackburn

This display provides clinical contemporary books for physical and mental wellbeing of members of this community for practitioners, family members, and individuals to educate themselves. These materials are not to meant to replace professional help or diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.

UNO Libraries recognizes the horrific historical scientific and social stigmas, biases, and prescribed medical and psychological treatments associated with the members of this community. For books regarding previous psychological practices, HIV/AIDS and the impact on the LGBTQIA2S+ community, and other sociomedical topics, please refer to our social science, LGBT studies, and history eBook collections.

Did you know that UNO Criss Library is home to the Queer Omaha Archives? Learn more about the library's dedication to documenting the stories of members in the LGBTQIA2S+ community right here in Omaha by clicking the first link below.

Queer Omaha Archives
Top Health Issues for LGBT Populations Information & Resource Kit
Top Health Issues for LGBT Populations Information & Resource Kit from the U.S. Center for Substance Abuse Prevention

EBSCO Academic Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of over 210,000 ebooks published by a wide range of university presses and other academic publishers. Books may be viewed online without any special reader. Users may set up a personal EBSCO account which will permit downloading ebooks.
ProQuest Academic Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains over 224,000 ebooks from a wide range of academic and university press publishers. The individual books are also searchable in the library catalog.

The Remedy: Queer and Trans Voices on Health and Health Care

A Clinician's Guide to Gender Identity and Body Image: Practical Support for Working with Transgender and Gender-Expansive Clients

In this display:

The Remedy : Queer and Trans Voices on Health and Health Care, edited by Zena Sharman, Arsenal Pulp Press, 2016.
Black LGBT Health in the United States : The Intersection of Race, Gender, and Sexual Orientation, edited by Lourdes Dolores Follins, and Jonathan Mathias Lassiter, Lexington Books, 2016.
Health Care Disparities and the LGBT Population, edited by Vickie L. Harvey, and Teresa Heinz Housel, Lexington Books, 2014.
Casebook for Counseling : Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Persons and Their Families, edited by Sari H. Dworkin, et al., American Counseling Association, 2012.
Health Care Disparities and the LGBT Population, edited by Vickie L. Harvey, and Teresa Heinz Housel, Lexington Books, 2014.
Casebook for Counseling : Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Persons and Their Families, edited by Sari H. Dworkin, et al., American Counseling Association, 2012.
Dalzell, Heidi, and Kayti Protos. A Clinician's Guide to Gender Identity and Body Image : Practical Support for Working with Transgender and Gender-Expansive Clients, Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2020.
Eliason, M. J., & Chinn, P. L. (2018). LGBTQ Cultures : What Health Care Professionals Need to Know About Sexual and Gender Diversity: Vol. 3rd edition. Wolters Kluwer Health.
Forcier, Michelle, et al. LGBTQ Youth: Enhancing Care for Gender and Sexual Minorities : Adolescent Medicine: State of the Art Reviews. American Academy of Pediatrics, 2018.
Singh, Anneliese. The Queer and Transgender Resilience Workbook : Skills for Navigating Sexual Orientation and Gender Expression, New Harbinger Publications, 2018.